Lancome La Base Paupieres Pro (Long Wear Eye Shadow Base) Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you my thoughts and findings when testing the Lancome La Base Paupieres Pro (possibly the longest name for an eye shadow primer ever!). I received this from my Grandmother and have been using it from the day I got it, so that’s been around a month now, give or take a little bit. If you saw my most recent Favourites, you probably know how this is going to go, but I thought I would give you a little further insight to the product itself for you!

17505756_992642447539651_1205431548_n

 Firstly, the packaging. This comes in a very minimalist glass tub with a black lid and transparent part holding the product, so you can look at how much you’ve got left/the colour etc. The black lid is adorned with the statement Lancome rose, which really reminds me of Beauty and the Beast, but you can’t doubt how stunning it looks. This also hasn’t chipped unlike other branding on some other products that have been rattling around in my makeup bag, so that’s a good sign! The lid is screw on so it’s really easy to open and safely fasten should you be travelling. Taking travelling into consideration, I would be quite cautious because it is made of glass and, although this gives it a really luxurious vibe, it does mean it can smash. It feels quite sturdy, but it’s better to be safe than sorry. The lid is plastic, though, so that keeps my worries at bay! This is slightly more weight-y because of that factor, but taking into account it’s thick glass, it’s not as heavy as you would think. Maybe that’s just because I’m used to lifting it up and using it everyday now, but that’s just what I’ve noticed! On the bottom is has all the vital information you may require, like the ingredients and the colours and the amount of time you can use it for, and it’s displayed quite simplistically without appearing too busy. There is quite a lot of product in this, also: 5ml/5g/017oz, which I consider a lot for a solid eye primer. This is going to last me forever!

As expected, there is no obvious smell about this product. This is in the colour 02 Beige Porcelaine which was, as previously mentioned, picked out by my Granny, so I’m guessing there’s other colours and it’s not just used as a skin-toned eye primer. I’ve just assumed this because this colour is very much my kind of skin-toned, but it does contain some little specs of glitter, which I guess gave it away. This isn’t any hassle to me because I always set my primer with powder which mattifies it quite well. The glitters aren’t evident when wearing a completely matte eye, so please don’t let that put you off, and, as I say, I am guessing there are other colours in the collection you can choose from.

17496169_992642450872984_800222313_n

Onto the product itself. As this is one of the only high-end products in my makeup collection and one of the first Lancome products I used, I’m not going to lie, I had high hopes, like a lot of us would. I had an inkling to the general price of their products, so I did kind of make my predictions based on that, which you probably shouldn’t do! This is one of those products I apply with my finger but blends into the surrounding skin really nicely and is super creamy during use, but doesn’t budge once applied! I’m actually surprised by how easy it is so use and how it hasn’t dried up because I’m guessing my Granny bought this around this time last year, but I obviously can’t find out now! This also increases any eye shadows pigmentation and longevity amazingly – I cannot believe the choice of eye shadows I have for school now, it’s slightly overwhelming! It makes glitters stick onto your eye so easily and any colour, whether it be neutral or dramatic, look 10 times better than it already would! I also think it’s increased the longevity of my eyeliner, but that could just be due to chance and me doing something different! Blending products out is just as easy as it was before, but I have always applied setting powder in my crease to help with this, so I’m not overly surprised that I haven’t seen a massive change in this. It makes everything last until it’s time to take it off, which can sometimes be 12 hours after applying it, so I’m happy and it definitely lives up to its expectations!

Finally, price and availability. As we can all guess, this doesn’t come cheap, and has the hefty price tag of £21. I do think you get what you pay for though, with an amazing product and the amount of product also being much needed when you wear makeup as often as some people *cough* me, sorry skin *cough*. This is available in Boots, in-store and online, so if you have one near-by you can go get one quite easily, or you will have to go to a bigger department store like Debenhams or John Lewis, which is a bit of a hassle, but most places have a Boots so I wouldn’t worry too much! I think those are the only places in the UK you can get it, but you are more than welcome to correct me!

17690554_997627247041171_1674112550_n

Would I recommend it to you? Yes, but if you have the money to spare. I got this simply through chance and, quite frankly, luck, so please don’t feel worried that I endorse budget friendly items then whip out this £20 primer! Trust me, I agree on the expense of it, but you do get what you pay for, and I do believe certain products in a makeup routine, like an eye primer, should be kind of like an investment. It’s products like these that I see as the true foundations of a makeup look because it really does hold it all together. I’m sure you can get much more affordable ones of a similar quality, hence why I say only get it if you’ve got the money spare; don’t force yourself into debt over an eye primer!

 And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – you all know by now how much I love writing my reviews! Let me know what you think of this product if you’ve used it yourself or whether I’ve now convinced you to get it! Also, don’t forget to let me know what else you would like to see on this blog or what you believe are the foundations to a makeup routine!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

