March Favourites 2017

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you my March Favourites! I know every single blogger since the beginning of time says this, but where has the time gone?! I feel like I’ve blinked and I’ve been fast-forwarded to March 2017, it’s just insane. This month has had highs and lows, including getting my prom dress and real friends proving who they really are. I think I’ve also definitely decided which college I’m going to, but I will only write a follow-up blog post on that once it’s definite (i.e. when I’m driving there for my first day!). Anyway, it’s only a month and a half until my first exam and I’m having a complete mental breakdown, but let’s continue on with the blog post!

The first thing I have been loving this month has been the Lancome La Base Paupieres Pro (basically a primer!) in 02 Beige Porcelaine. I received this on quite sad circumstances but this has magical powers I had not before experienced! This is really easy to work with – think the Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo’s but skin coloured – and helps to maintain my eye makeup for the entire day, no matter what I’m doing. I don’t think it’s waterproof, but I wouldn’t expect my powder eye shadows, which I apply on top, to be either. I just apply this with my finger and set with some powder and it’s all good to go. I haven’t noticed any extra help in blending because I’ve always applied powder onto my primer and my eye shadows seem to be pretty good in that respect anyway, but I’m sure it’s noticeable to some! It does, however, help to colour correct my eye lid and hide any veins which may have appeared, though they usually don’t, without appearing too thick or clumpy on my lid. This colour does appear to have some shimmers in, but once set with powder you really can’t notice it if you wanted to do a completely matte eye. It hasn’t disrupted my eyeliner yet, either, which is a massive thing to me! This is available from Boots, John Lewis and Debenhams, as well as some other department stores.

17506085_992642437539652_153810283_n

Another beauty thing I’ve been loving his month has been liquid eyeliner. Long-term readers will know my love for black winged liner (as just mentioned!), and it’s taken me forever to finally gain the confidence to use a liquid one! At the moment I’m just using this cheap one I got in a magazine goodness knows how long ago, but I am planning on getting the Collection one soon as it’s had great reviews and it looks fairly similar to the one I’ve been playing around with (let me know if that sounds like a good idea to you because it’s a whole new world for me!). It’s still a work in progress and I don’t have the full confidence to wear it everyday, but every so often I try it out just to build my skill and technique with it. It’s not as difficult as I initially thought, though that could be down to me using gel eyeliner very precisely for the past 7 months!

17496086_992642434206319_1763169140_n

The third thing on my list for the month has been lip glosses. I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with lip glosses for a whole host of reasons, but this month I’ve really liked just popping one on for a day-to-day look, or out shopping, or for college meetings etc.. The one I’ve featured in the picture is Tanya Burr’s Aphrodite (which, I think, has sadly been discontinued) which is a shade I’ve reunited with this month; it’s a gorgeous subtle pink-y red that is perfect for a sunny Spring/Summer day. I just really like how easy they are to (literally) pop on and know that if some colour comes off it’s not too noticeable, meaning I don’t need to keep reapplying. They also don’t dry my lips out, which is something I’ve actually struggled with these past few months when using different lip products. They also feel lighter and more appropriate to the warmer weather, I don’t know why!

17141346_979481095522453_2110645483_n

I’ve already featured this in an earlier blog post, but this month I read and fell in love with A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. This was lent to me by my Aunt after she said ‘it’s a kids book, but a really bloody good kids book’! That was obviously enough for me to read it! I knew some background knowledge about this because the film came out around the end of last year and I’d seen the trailer on TV, but this book is the most emotional yet innocent thing to have ever been absorbed into my brain. I think it pulls at the heart strings even more because of the fact it’s written from such an innocent perspective of a 13-year-old boy. This story follows the main character, Connor, as he has to care for his Mum who has cancer (and we all know what will happen there). He meets The Monster (which still confuses me slightly, is he meant to be something metaphorical?) who helps him overcome a series of hurdles and yes, this will make you cry. It’s in third person, which I don’t usually lean towards, but oh-me oh-my is this a book which will manifest your life! Even if you just borrow it from the library, it needs to be read! This is available from WHSmith, Waterstones and most other book shops.

17467614_992642460872983_1063971525_n

Another book my Aunt lent me and had to be included in my Favourites was The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. I haven’t actually finished this because I read A Monster Calls first and this is a much thicker book to get through, but I am so hooked, more than I ever thought I would. Despite all the books I have read over the years, this is the first adult book I’ve ever read, so I was slightly anxious that I wouldn’t understand it or that it would go straight over my head, but I understand it and I’m feeling all the feels! This is a mystery/thriller (basically the complete opposite of the heart-wrenching book I’d read beforehand, though I haven’t actually got to the thriller bit yet!) and it contains multiple narratives, which I’m an absolute sucker for! I can’t tell you much about it because it’s so easy to give stuff away, but it’s about an alcoholic called Rachel (bodes well!) who gets the same train to work everyday and so see’s the same people doing their usual routine on those days, as well. And then all these things happen and people go missing and Rachel get’s involved and there’s ex-husbands and babies and you need to read this before I annoy everyone out there! As I say, I haven’t finished it yet, but I know it’s going to be a book that takes over my life! This is also available from WHSmith, Waterstone and most other book shops.

The final thing I have been loving this month is Snapchat. Once again, I’m the last on the bandwagon, but I have now joined in with that teenage trend of multiple filters and aimed posts! Just kidding, I don’t aim things just as a matter of principle! It has now become my most favoured app on my phone; I just find it so addictive and I need to check for new filters every day, just in case! I’ve actually found it’s also built my confidence in terms of taking photos of myself and choosing to share them with others – I’ve only got a few friends on there who I know and trust, whereas I sometimes feel my Instagram and Facebook are a bit of a free for all. Talking of Instagram, I’m seriously thinking about starting an account for this blog (ChummyR) on there but I will only do it when I have more time (i.e. when most/all of my exams are done in June) so that I can keep you updated on a daily basis and build more of a connection with you. I know uploading a blog post 3 times a week is a lot for some bloggers, but I always feel like I could build on it. So, yeah, just let me know what you think of that idea!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing Favourites blog posts, even if it does make me panic with my other deadlines that I fear are looming! Let me know what you like from this little selection if you have used or read anything mentioned, and what products have been some of your Favourites this month!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

