How To: Makeup on Mature Skin

Good Evening Munchkins!

As last Sunday was Mother’s Day, I decided I would treat my Mum in a number of ways, but something she said she would really like was a pampering and her makeup done ‘all nicely’. Being the makeup freak I am, I was more than happy to oblige, but because I wanted my Mum to feel really happy and good about herself, I decided to research what I could do to make her look a little bit more youthful and extenuate her natural beauty. Obviously I wanted to add my own style, but these little tips are tried and tested (most of which actually worked).

17580093_994015937402302_2111608271_n

So, as per usual, I moisturised her skin with the Simple Hydrating Light Moisturiser (available from Boots and Superdrug) just to plump her skin slightly and prep it for the makeup I was to put on top. I then opted for a light, dewy foundation so that it looks like healthy skin as opposed to a mask! It is recommended to use a CC Cream on more mature skin, but I found this tester one to work just as well (which I don’t know the name of, but it’s really good!). My grandmother used this – it’s got to be good! I blended it in with a damp beauty blender to allow it to oxidize in with her natural complexion even more seamlessly and maintain the dewy glow.

17555393_994015927402303_1907600186_n

Something else I was warned about was over-powdering. With my teenage skin type, if I over-powder, it’s not overly noticeable by the time I’ve finished my makeup/left the house because my natural oiliness will reduce the look of it, if that makes any sense. However, on a more mature skin type, powder has the ability to sink into fine lines and hence make them look even more apparent if applied carelessly, which we don’t want. Therefore, only apply around the T-Zone with a small powder brush (I used the Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush, available from Boots and Superdrug) and any other notably oily areas.

Something which I do everyday anyway but was also recommended was to use powder products for the eyebrows. Quite naturally as we get older our eyebrow hairs become more sparse and, where my Mum’s blonde, they look even less ‘there’! Taking these points into account, I used a light brown eye shadow on a very thin, defined angled brush so that I still managed to create a natural brow shape and colour for her hair colour. The eye shadows I used were Naked 2 from the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette (available from Feel Unique) and Velvet Teddy from the Tanya Burr Fairytale Palette (available from Superdrug and Feel Unique).

Wearing neutral eye shadows is something else I’ve heard, which I think most women of that age tend to lean towards anyway. I’m a complete advocate for wear and do what you want, no matter what society says, but Mum wanted a neutral-ish look with some glitter, so I did just that. I used my Daytime Gold Smokey Eye (find HERE) as inspiration, and she seemed very happy with this. The only difference was the amount of glitter I applied and the fact I went a bit higher with the transition shade, but that’s due to our different eye shapes. An amazing all-matte palette if you do want to stick with neutral matte shades is the Makeup Revolution Ultra Flawless Matte’s Palette, available from Superdrug.

I don’t know about your Mum, but mine is always asking me how I get my eyeliner so angled and in such a straight line, so if I ever do her makeup she will always wants a similar look. However, I believe that with her natural colouring and eye shape (and the addition of more mature skin) winged eyeliner wouldn’t compliment her too much, so I instead opted for a smudged dark brown pencil eyeliner on her upper lash line. I did choose a dark brown in order to coordinate with the smokey eye, as well, but it isn’t too harsh against the rest of her skin/makeup, yet ensures there is still some definition still there!

17555421_994015870735642_1229531544_n

Onto the face once again, I have been warned not to use a glittery blusher. Similar to the over-powdering fear, applying too much glitter can accentuate fine lines in the same way of sinking in, but then I question how I will apply highlighter! I don’t own many shimmer blushers, so this wasn’t much of an issue, but I did still apply a generous amount of highlighter! I didn’t find it making my Mum look any older, but I guess it’s on a smaller area of the face so doesn’t appear too bad. The blusher I used was L’Oreal Le Blush in Sandalwood Pink (available from Boots and Superdrug) and the highlighter I used was the one from the Collection Highlight and Sculpt Contour Kit (available from Boots and Superdrug).

17577732_994015857402310_1335285455_n

And, finally, choose a colour a little bit darker than your natural lip colour. My Mum has quite pink lips, so there was a whole host of choice for her! This was something I let her choose for herself and she chose the Avon Ultra Glaze Wear Lip Gloss in Rosette, which I highly agreed with! I think lip colours are so universal that it doesn’t matter whether you prefer lighter or darker, but more mature women usually tend to choose a more neutral tone just because it’s more in their safety bracket, which I completely understand. I also don’t think there’s much of a difference if you were to choose a lipstick, a lip gloss, or a completely different formula all together – that part is down to personal preference!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I really enjoyed doing my Mum’s makeup and being able to share it with you could really help any of you out, or myself in the future, because we all know I’ll forget these in a few days! Mother’s Day doesn’t have to be about spending loads; she really appreciated this and being treated in this way, so chances are it could work for you, even if I am writing this after the day itself! Don’t forget to let me know what you got you’re Mum on Sunday, or how you chose to spend it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

