EOTD: Drugstore Daytime Golden Smokey Eye

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would show you a look that I’ve only recently created but have completely fallen head over heels for! I feel like I might have mentioned a variation of this before but this is a style of smokey eye that is so easy (literally anyone can do it!) but looks so effective for daytime. It’s just a nice change to the usual brown/bronze smokey eye I would usually turn to. This only uses a few different eye shadows (all of which are very affordable) and can be completed in minutes!

So here is the look I have been loving:

As you can see, this has a stunning shimmer vibe about it (could you expect any different from me?!) but still a smooth gradient which I love! All the colours combine together really easily without any necessary blending after application of the shades themselves.

The first thing I do, as per usual, is apply a primer and set it with powder. This new primer I’m using (which will be featured in my March Favourites, so keep your eyes peeled for that!) has significantly increased the longevity of any eye shadow I put on top of it and has been a complete life saver for me! Applying powder over top just helps blending later and sets the creamy formula of the primer.

17391957_989162184554344_992130555_n

I then head into my Collection Little Mix All About The Eye’s Palette (which has, very sadly, been discontinued) and take the colour Golden Sand on my middle finger before applying it all over my lid, but not past the crease. I just find this colour to appear more pigmented when applied with my finger, and it also ensures there’s no fallout and all the glitter stays where it should. It lets me push the colour into the primer, as well, so I know it will last a bit longer than what it would if applied with a brush.

17391957_989162184554344_992130555_n (2)

From the same palette, I will be taking the colour Sunkissed on my index finger and applying it on the outer third of my eye. I have quite small fingers so this is quite easy, but I know this isn’t the case for everyone, so just find a very small, detail-er brush that can do the same trick for you. I then just blend these together with a fluffy blending brush to remove any harsh lines.

17409866_989162194554343_1745690944_n

Going into my new Tanya Burr Fairytale Palette (ahhhh! I can’t believe I’ve finally got this! This is available from Superdrug and Feel Unique), I take the colour Velvet Cushion and apply this into my crease. For this, I used a small, dense blending brush in order to get some precision. I also blend it out slightly higher to give it some daytime drama (considering I can’t stay up past 10pm and I’m single, this is the most exciting thing in my life right now!). If I need to, I will go back in with the fluffy blending brush to combine it all together, but as it goes, they all do so quite naturally anyway.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love this makeup look and I really hope you do too! If you try this makeup look, please let me know what you think or what your favourite makeup look is at the moment!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

P.S. Thank you so much for allowing me to hit 300 followers! That is just an insane number to be; I started this blog just as a little bit of fun and with no real expectations of anything much to come from it, so to be able to say this is amazing! I’m literally someone that has come nothing, so thank you so much for giving me this section of my life that I can always rely on and be assured by. I love you all lots and lots. xx

One thought on “EOTD: Drugstore Daytime Golden Smokey Eye”

Leave a Reply

