Do Primark Brush Cleaners Work? | First Impressions

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you my initial thoughts and feelings towards the Primark Brush/Beauty Sponge Cleanser Wipes. I bought these a few weeks ago and have only just gotten around to using them. I’m not going to lie, before using these I was very curious but also worried as to what it may do to my beloved brushes and sponges, hence why I’ve put it off for so long! However, cleaning my tools has become fundamental since beginning my Drama exam (which I’m doing the makeup for – my life is complete!) due to hygiene and safety and such. Anyway, let’s see if these do, in fact, work!

17274286_984757291661500_266942903_n

As you can see, this product was on offer in Primark for a very reasonable price, explaining why I thought I’d try it because it’s only £1, which isn’t exactly money down the drain if it doesn’t work. In one box you get 6 wipes, all of which come in their own individual air-tight plastic packets which are very easy to rip open. The wipe inside is soaked through with product, which I don’t mind because it assures me there is definite product on there and isn’t going to dry up after a few brushes. It’s folded very neatly and quite cutely in the packet but does open out to be the size of an average face wipe. I’m not going to lie, the smell is very strong so if you don’t like overly-chemical-y smells, you might want to hold your breath whilst using this. Think nail polish remover/acid kind of scent.

Before and After using the wipes

I first tried this on the beauty blender I use for my Drama exam and didn’t find much product had come off. This product promises to remove makeup from any beauty blender or brush, so I scrubbed a bit harder but I was scared of damaging the sponge itself so stopped. As you can see, the tip of the sponge has broken off due to using the wipe, but that could just be due to it being a cheap little sponge I picked up as a back-up! I did also notice that the bottom of the egg-shape was starting to ‘shed’ slightly so decided to stop. It has got a lot of the makeup off and now when I wipe it on one of the wipes no more product comes off, but it does still look visually unappealing.

17270541_984728128331083_465617814_n

17274121_984728118331084_1870367908_n

For this blog post, I also tried it on an eye shadow brush (I’m really sorry for the terrible pictures!) that I usually use for pigments, so a lot of colour and glitter had to be removed from this! I had a bit more success from this though the bristles seemed to clump together afterwards – I do think this was just due to it being wet, though, as that’s what happens when I wash it normally. I did try it on a brush I use everyday, also, and I had even more success with that one, though I didn’t take pictures for that one, unfortunately.

R-L: Before and After using wipes

When using this, I also found it took quite a lot of time to remove all/most of the product stored in the brush so I ended up losing motivation halfway through. For me, I need something quick and easy to use because I really don’t have that much spare time with my up-coming exams and deadlines! I do want to get into the habit of cleaning my brushes and sponges more, though, just because of hygiene reasons and so I can apply makeup onto other people and not feel self-conscious about it. That’s the reason why I thought I would try these wipes because if they worked, they could be massive time-savers for me and so many others in the same position as me!

17238691_984757261661503_59805057_n

Finally, would I recommend it to you? I’m afraid not. I will continue to use them for urgent situations when I don’t have time for my brushes to dry if I were to wash them by hand, but they won’t be my go-to. I really was looking forward to finding something that would significantly help me and my time-saving, but it looks like I’m going to need to keep my eyes peeled and continue to hunt for more tips and products to do just that! In fact, let me know if you know of any or use some for yourself so I can get my hands on them!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – even though these were a bit of a flop, I actually really enjoyed writing a First Impressions (something I’ve never done before!). If you’ve tried these, let me know what you thought whilst you were using it and whether I’m doing it wrong (which I probably am!). Also, don’t forget to let me know what else you would like to see on this blog!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

 

2 thoughts on “Do Primark Brush Cleaners Work? | First Impressions”

Leave a Reply

