How To Pamper Yourself on a Budget

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you a few tips and tricks on How To Pamper Yourself on a Budget. As a 16-year-old who comes from a typical working class family, treating myself can sometimes appear expensive, but after hunting high and low, I’ve found products that work and still manage to relax and pamper me. Like everyone else in the world, I love a good ol’ pamper from time to time, so finding really affordable alternatives is something I’ve found to be really worthwhile! So this is how I achieve the perfect pamper night!

The first thing I like to do is have a bath, and a cheeky read while I’m doing so! I love me a bubble bath, so there are a whole range of brands, scents and prices to look at when considering this. One of my friends actually bought me this massive Radox Bubble Bath for Christmas, and I know that these are very inexpensive and come in a variety of scents. I know this one says it’s for men, but she bought it because I always have a bad back and it’s a muscle soother – other options are available though! I’ve been using this around once a week since Christmas and it’s not even half used yet; a little bit goes a long way, and it also makes you smell very nice afterwards! On special occasions, I will also buy myself a bath bomb just to switch things up a bit, but these tend to cost more than the bubble bath itself, and last for more baths! This is available in Boots, Superdrug and most supermarkets.

16402124_957717084365521_1354027328_n

I know this isn’t going to interest some people, but the type of body wash I use really does affect my overall experience! At the moment I’m using the Imperial Leather (fancy already!) Marshmallow body wash and it smells divine! I mentioned this in my Favourites last week, but it is beautiful and really does make you smell amazing! I know some people like to co-ordinate their scents but I really don’t mind (though I reckon with these two brands it is possible to do so!). Although it says ‘marshmallow’, it’s not overly sweet and does contain some floral notes, making it the perfect feminine fragrance! This kind of old-fashioned sweet range contains a few different scents, because I have the Foam Banana one in my cupboard waiting to be used, as well! This is also available from Boots, Superdrug and most supermarkets.

If I’m going to fully treat myself, I will go onto use a body scrub as I do get quite dry and irritated skin. The one that myself and my family have been loving has been the Wilkinson’s Fruit range, particularly the Passion Fruit and Watermelon one and the Orange and Pomello one. Although I haven’t started the Orange and Pomello one yet, it is ready and waiting! As it’s early spring, I don’t do a full scrub, only my legs as they do get really itchy due to dry skin and it helps calm that. Again, both scents smell amazing and lasts a long time! There are so many fragrances in this collection, there will definitely be one for everyone and it’s so ridiculously cheap – yet it still works! As this is a massive range in Wilkinson’s, there are also the matching body butters and/or lotions to go with it (find the Passion Fruit and Watermelon one HERE), but I prefer to use the body butter as it feels richer, isn’t as greasy and leaves you smelling gorgeous! I seriously cannot rate these enough!

A final thing I will do to treat myself is wash my hair (I know how to have a wild night in!). I wash my hair twice a week, and recently we received all of my grandmother’s old toiletries so I’m using a lot of Aussie (from Boots and Superdrug) products as the moment. These are slightly more expensive but they do work really well and make your hair appear stunning once it’s dried. The shampoo I use is from Head & Shoulder’s (also from Boots and Superdrug), though, because I have such bad dry skin everywhere! This is also an inexpensive brand, though these two together really do work well. I then use this Schwarzkopf Heat Defence Spray from B&M (somewhere I highly recommend for cheap hair products) to protect my hair whilst blow-drying it, and some Frizz Resistance serum that is very quickly running out! This is also from B&M, and both of these together help styling my hair become much easier whilst still doing so safely. These won’t take you to the moon and back, but they certainly do the job, which is all I need at this stage! Drying my hair is so much easier since cutting it, as well!

17141346_979481095522453_2110645483_n

 Earlier I said that I like to read in the bath, and these methods are probably really obvious, but I thought I’d still point them out to you. At the moment I’m reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, which my aunt lent to me, so you can always borrow books from people, such as friends and family. Something that I did a lot as a child was borrowed books from either my village or school library, and this also means you don’t clutter up your house/room with old books you will probably never read again! However, if you do like to do that (like myself) I suggest buying second-hand books from charity shops (I bought To Kill a Mockingbird in the summer for 99p!) or on Ebay, because everything is so much more affordable if you just open your eyes and look. Some books may not look visually appealing, but it’s still the same words inside, so it’s no fuss to me where I get them from.

Before getting into the shower/bath, I will use my beloved Garnier Micellar Water (available from Boots and Superdrug) to remove my makeup.  I then use the Simple Refreshing Facial Wash Gel (available from Boots and Superdrug) whilst in the shower, because then I can ensure it’s all off without getting my clothes or newly-washed hair wet! After drying my hair, I will proceed with using the Simple Hydrating Light Moisturiser (available from Boots and Superdrug) all over my face and down my neck. I don’t know if this is normal but I also use it on my eyebrows to ensure they’re not being damaged by the amount of product I put on it! After brushing my teeth, I will apply a generous amount of lip balm to get those beautiful, soft lips no one’s going to kiss and some hand cream, because your face, neck and hands are the things to age first (I’m 16 but I’m still panicking about this!). I tend to receive lip balms and hand creams in gift sets for Christmas, though you can always go to somewhere like Primark and get some really cheap (i.e. £1/£2 depending which brand you get), because they all do the same thing at the end of the day. If I’m in the mood for a full pamper, though, I will also use a face mask, usually the ones from Superdrug that come in a little packet and last a couple of nights. I these are so affordable yet do help boost teenage/young skin, particularly for what they are. They won’t make miracles, but they will give your skin a little something extra! I don’t know their real names, sorry!

17141306_979481138855782_1500398253_n

Finally, I love to light some candles. Whether they’re scented or not, they’re super therapeutic and really do the trick! I like to buy tealights in bulk because it becomes much more affordable (you can buy around 30 for £1 in IKEA), and I’m always lighting them. They’re also affordable and are in so many scents and colours. For larger candles, you can buy one’s in jars for £1 in places like Tesco or other supermarkets, which also smells gorgeous. I will also treat myself to a Yankee Candle every so often, but for day-to-day, they really aren’t as cost-effective.

And there we have it! That was a lot longer than I expected, but I had so much to say! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing about budget buys so let me know what other topics to cover in that area! Also, let me know if you’ve tried any of these products mentioned or what you are now going to try for yourselves!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

