February Favourites 2017

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you my February Favourites. I’ve collected a good selection of different bits and bobs that I am going to share with you and I think you will also love! I haven’t been able to make my usual list this month, though, because I’ve changed phones and everything’s just been a bit up in the air. Nonetheless, this is what I remember that I love! As you will soon see, this month has been the month of positive changes (finally!)!

16996797_975643195906243_1526938648_n

The first thing I have been loving this month has been the L’Oreal True Match Le Blush in Sandalwood Pink. Those who have been reading my blog for a while will know that I don’t like a lot of blush because I have naturally rosy cheeks, so once I’ve got my foundation on I don’t want to reverse what that’s just done. This is a deep rosy powder shade that is super pigmented (so use in small doses) and gives a gorgeous, natural blush to the cheeks. It goes with a range of contour shades, highlighters and skin tones and I cannot fault it whatsoever. It also lasts all day long and can be used to dress a look up or for everyday wear, so is very versatile. I have been loving this, and considering I’ve used it every day for a good few weeks, there’s hardly a dent in the pan. I also feel a little bit fancier when wearing this because it’s the only L’Oreal product in my everyday collection! This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

16788199_968325316638031_1948049297_n

Recently I wrote a blog post about getting my cartilage pierced (see that HERE) and, of course, it had to be mentioned in my Favourites! I am so in love with my new piercing and the pain has now significantly decreased, meaning I can sleep on that side again and not scream every time something is in a 3 metre radius of it! I love how it looks and I’m still treating it with the solution the piercer gave me three times a day, so hopefully no allergies develop like they did in my lobes. I’ve got my first ring that I’m dying to put in after the initial 8 week period and, better yet, no one at school’s picked up on it! I’m just obsessed and would recommend to anyone who wants it to get it done! I got my cartilage pierced at Claires.

16930331_1261971307227016_1917532649_o

One of the newest things I’ve been loving is my hair cut. I did initially just want the dead ends/split ends cut off and I asked my friend who’s a training hairdresser, but he cut off about 4 inches in the end! Obviously, I couldn’t see what he was doing as he was doing it but I did really like the end result! It’s just slightly longer than a bob, which is really on trend at the moment, and he also put layers in it. I’m just obsessed with it; as much as I loved my longer hair, it wasn’t healthy and it will grow back really quickly now. It’s so much more manageable and it only took me 5 minutes to dry when I washed it last night! It’s the shortest I’ve had it since being a child, but I really do wish I’d done it earlier!

Onto random favourites, I have been loving reading in the bath. This is something else I wish I’d tried earlier but I was so worried about damaging my beloved books, being as clumsy as I am! I just find it is one of the best ways for me to relax and de-stress, and it’s even calmed my anxiety to a certain extent. I just love to take half an hour out of my evening a few times a week to enjoy a nice warm bath with some bubbles in and fully immerse myself into the book. I think this is something for pure book lovers, but it’s literally my new favourite hobby! It literally takes me out of my day and any situation I may be in to enjoy my book, and that’s a feeling no one will ever take away from me!

16996842_975643162572913_251375321_n

And the book I have been loving to read in the bath has been All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. By the time this blog post has gone up, I should have finished it completely, but the massive plot twist that has happened has just broken my heart into a million pieces! I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before (sorry if I have) but it really is the most beautifully written book about such a sensitive, raw issue that I have ever read. It’s basically a love story between Violet, who’s sister has recently died, and Theo (who’s nicknamed Finch), who wants to die – to put it bluntly! They both unexpectedly meet at the top of their school bell tower which forms into an unlikely friendship, and we all know where it leads from there! I think there’s going to be a film of it soon, as well, so I’m just preparing myself for that! This is available from Waterstones, WHSmith, Ebay, Amazon and most other bookstores.

Finally, I’ve been watching and very much enjoying the new series of Celebs Go Dating on E4. I did try and watch the last series in the summer but it didn’t appeal to me too much, though this series really has me hooked! As I write, it’s literally on in the background and I think the celebrities on this series are just so funny and I actually know who they all are, which is a bonus! It’s something that’s really good to just have a bit of a laugh at and wind down to in the evening…or afternoon…or morning! I think it’s on every weeknight, but they’re all on catch up so I’ve just been massively binge-watching them! If you like a bit of reality TV with a lot of laughs, this is the one for you!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing Favourites, even if it does cause a slight existential crisis! Just to let you all know, my next blog post will be uploaded on Friday as opposed to Thursday, for reasons you will soon read. As of next week, though, the routine will continue as it has been. Don’t forget to let me know what you’re favourites have been this month or what items you also like from my little selection!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Friday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

