Morphe VS. Makeup Revolution [Eye Shadow Palettes]

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be chatting you through my findings whilst using the Morphe 35K palette and the Makeup Revolution Flawless Ultra Mattes palette, and the differences I’ve found between them. As a little bit of background, the Morphe palette contains (as you may be able to tell!) 35 eye shadows, which are mainly neutral, and contain a mixture of matte and shimmer shades. The Makeup Revolution palette, however, contains 32 entirely matte eye shadows in much smaller pans. This won’t be a full review on either palette (though if you would like that, please let me know and I can write that for you), it will just be ‘VS.’ between the two of them and pointing out their obvious differences.

So the first thing I’m going to be talking to you about is the pan sizes. I know to most this won’t seem like anything that interesting, but the difference is significant! In the Makeup Revolution palette, the pans are much smaller, meaning you do get less bang for your buck (I hate that phrase, but it fits!), but there are so many colours to choose from, I don’t think you’ll be missing out too much! I’ve had this for nearly a year and use it quite a lot for school and I haven’t hit pan yet, so it does last for a while. In the Morphe palette, my brushes literally swim in the pans! They are massive and I don’t know how I’m ever going to finish one eye shadow let alone the palette! I’ve only had this since Christmas so I wouldn’t expect to hit pan on it no matter what palette it was, but this is definitely going to last me a lot longer. At the same time, though, I think you do pay for the pan sizes you are given with both palettes.

16831592_971843359619560_1715125123_n

As I’ve already mentioned, the Makeup Revolution palette I own contains only mattes (though they do offer other palettes with shimmer shades) and the Morphe one contains a pretty even mixture of mattes and shimmers. The Makeup Revolution palette is quite pigmented and can last throughout a day where you’re not doing much, but the Morphe colours can literally go through natural disasters and a world war and still look just how you applied it earlier that day! They both contain relatively neutral shades (i.e. creams, browns, blacks) with the odd exception of a few pinks or blues along the way. Although the Morphe shades win on the pigment and longevity front, the Makeup Revolution palette does come with a sheet of clear plastic which has the eye shadows names on, something I really do appreciate when I’m writing blog posts. This does depend on your wants and needs in a palette, but I find that when the eye shadows are labelled, they’re much more practical when blogging.

Onto the packaging. As you can see, both are in a very minimalist black, plastic casing. The Makeup Revolution has a much glossier effect whilst the Morphe one has a matte, wipe-down finish (the irony), both of which are easy to travel with and I can wipe any spillages off of. Both also have the names of the brands imprinted on the front; the Makeup Revolution one in a gold, which has started to chip away slightly, and the Morphe one containing it’s usual white and red logo. They’re both click shut and, despite being smaller, I actually think the Makeup Revolution palette is relatively heavier than the Morphe palette. Also, it’s quite evident the size difference of both palettes – the Makeup Revolution palette is less than half the size of the Morphe one, making it much easier to travel with. In saying this, you could get away with only taking one of these palettes with you if you were to travel because they contain practically every colour you could ever need, particularly the Morphe palette. Something else which is quite stand out is that the Makeup Revolution palette comes with a mirror whilst the Morphe one doesn’t. This isn’t great for practical reasons, but I do have loads of handheld mirrors I could use in replacement of Morphe’s lack of mirror. Neither of these palettes come with a brush.

Finally, price and availability. The Makeup Revolution palette is available from Superdrug for £8. I personally find this a really reasonable price for a palette of so many colours which are of a decent quality, particularly for beginners. It’s also really easy to get hold of because it’s available in-store and online. The Morphe palette, in the UK, is only available online at Beauty Bay as of recently and retails for £21. This is much higher in price but you do get what you pay for and if you divide that price by the amount of eye shadows, it’s still less than £1 per eye shadow.

I love both of these palettes, though, and I think it would depend on the occasion as to which palette I would opt for. I think the Makeup Revolution palette is suited more to beginners or those who don’t wear makeup very often so just want one palette with everything in, whilst the Morphe palette is for collector’s or those who wear makeup more often (like myself).

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing ‘VS.’ blog posts so let me know what else you would like to see compared! Also, don’t forget to let me know which palette you prefer out of the two if you own one, the other, or both for yourself! Or, you can tell me which palette I have now swayed you towards if you own neither of them!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

