Pre-Birthday Haul; Superdrug and Primark

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you a few bits that I purchased just over a week ago now as a little pre-birthday treat with some money I received early. If I’d known how much I would get from friends and family this year (I was so lucky and I’m so grateful for that!), I probably wouldn’t have gone shopping but I still picked up some bits I needed and thought I’d just share them with you! This isn’t anything too exciting, but I thought I would still chat you through the little pieces I bought.

16923479_972500726220490_281411262_n

As per usual, I couldn’t resist the Primark that was there and had to go in there first! I was on a specific hunt for some lounge pants (random, I know!) and I definitely found what I wanted! The first pair I picked up was this Harry Potter legging-style lounge pant that was completely compulsory of me to get! This is a simple grey with the burgundy/deep red Harry Potter typography up the leg and on the waistband. The only thing I’d say if you were to get these for yourself is to size up because they do wear really small; I’m not sure why but just bare that in mind! I particularly like the waistband on this which is slightly elasticated and they just go with so many tops, meaning I can so easily chuck it on after school when I just want to chill. They’re also slightly fitted around the ankle meaning there is very little chance of me falling over! These were only £6, which you can’t really go wrong with! By the way, sorry that I lost the picture of the waistband, you’ll have to go by my previous description to know what I’m on about!

The next thing I bought in Primark was another pair of legging-style lounge pants, but instead with some New York lettering on it. Going to New York is one of the top things on my bucket list so I had to get them just to represent that! Again, these are plain grey with ‘New York’ written on the slightly elasticated waistband and ‘Brooklyn’ up the left leg, same as the Harry Potter ones. These were £5 – I don’t know why there was a £1 difference, but it’s still such a reasonable price that I can’t contend with! These may also need to be sized up, but they’re not as bad as the Harry Potter ones. I haven’t worn these properly yet, but I think they may be my favourite because of the comfort factor. I don’t think the writing on either of these will come off in the wash either because they don’t look like they’re stickers or anything like that.

The next couple of things I bought in Primark were a few pairs of socks. I love socks; I have no idea why, but they just really float my boat! Anyway, I’m also loving frilly socks at the moment and these warmer/darker colours so I thought I would buy a couple of pairs in burgundy and khaki. These were £2 each, which is so affordable considering there are two pairs in a pack, which will keep me going for a while! I just really like them for dressing up an outfit or chucking them on to wear with my Vans so the frilly bit is showing – they’re so effortlessly stylish and I just can’t get enough of them! These aren’t ankle socks, though, they can be pulled a little bit up the calf so they may not be ideal for some. I don’t mind, I just love the colour of them! They also had a few more colours available from what I saw.

16900060_971843172952912_1471082304_n

The last thing I bought in Primark was this little pack of brush/beauty blender cleanser wipe things. These really intrigued me and the box just contains 6 wipes which are supposed to clean your makeup tools so I will let you know how I get on with them. I was going to pick up a couple of boxes because they were on sale for £1 and there were loads there, but I didn’t want to spend my money on something that didn’t work. I’m just so lazy when it comes to cleaning my brushes, so if these work they could help me out so much! Again, super affordable and, potentially, very much time-saving and easy to use. I will write another blog post once I’ve attempted to use them!

16831526_971843202952909_72440196_n

Next I went into Superdrug and, once more, I was on a mission! For my last Drama exam I am applying makeup onto the actors in my designated group, so I needed to buy a face primer whilst I’m testing out my ideas and for the final performance in April. I had done my research beforehand and discovered the MUA Pro Base Smooth Set & Prime Primer, which I decided I was to get. This is a very lightweight product that only cost £5, which I don’t mind spending for my Drama portfolio. I’ve tried it on myself once, but I will do so again just so I can see the full effect of it, and I will be writing a review of it for you once I’ve used it a few times on the actor’s as well. I just find myself in quite a difficult situation of ‘I want to try the product out and see if it’s any good’ as well as ‘I want to keep it looking nice and new for the actor’s’, so it’s tricky, but it’s got a balmy-ish texture, so it’s not too noticeable if I’ve used a bit.

16839675_972500686220494_1351793226_n

The next thing I got in Superdrug was something else I’ve needed for a while and that is brow gel to set my eyebrows in place once I’ve filled them in. The one I was previously using I bought like 2/3 years ago, so I thought I was in definite need of an upgrade! As I was at the MUA counter I thought I would try out their Lash and Brow Clear Mascara because, for me, it’s not something that needs to be top quality in my makeup routine (unlike my foundation or eyeliner, for example) but I can’t complete my makeup routine without one! This was only £2 as well, so if it isn’t too great it isn’t money down the drain or a complete waste. Anyway, I will let you know how I get on with it!

The final thing I bought wasn’t something I needed, as such, but I’ve wanted one for such a long time and I’m so happy to finally have one in my collection! It’s the Tanya Burr Eye Shadow Palette in Fairytale. I picked this one up because I thought I would use these colours most in comparison to the little selection they had on offer, and it was one I was going to end up buying anyway. It contains 4 stunning neutral shades with the most gorgeous names – I just couldn’t resist it. I’ve received a lot of makeup recently so I really didn’t need this, but I wanted to test it out and I had the money on me, so thought ‘why not?’! This was only £6 so, again, it’s not money down the drain if it isn’t that great but I will let you know how I get along with it. I’ve tried her lip glosses before, though, and have been very impressed, so I do have high hopes for her palette! I’m literally so excited to try all this new stuff out!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing hauls, so let me know what you liked from this mini one here. Also, don’t forget to let me know what you’ve bought recently or what trends you have been loving!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

