EOTD: Dark, Cool-Toned, Shimmery Smokey Eye

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be talking you through a stunning makeup look I managed to create using the Morphe 35K Palette on Sunday. Since my birthday, I’ve received a fair few lip products which I’ve wanted to try out so I’ve *tried* keeping my eye makeup fairly neutral, but on this particular day I was trialing a ‘my-lips-but-better’ shade, so thought I would play around with some dark colours, once more. I love playing around with colours, mainly because you never know what you will end up producing from it, and 9 times out of 10, it tends to look stunning! This palette is available from Beauty Bay.

So here is the eye makeup:

As you can see, this is very dark but still relatively wearable. I wore it for daytime and I still didn’t look insane, let’s put it that way! This still follows very basic smokey eye steps and doesn’t use very many eye shadows, and all from the same palette (shock horror!). The cool undertones of the main eye shadow used also helps to bring out the pale blue of my eyes, also.

16402235_957717134365516_1276437738_n-copy

Unfortunately, Morphe don’t label or name their eye shadows in their palettes so you’re going to have to judge the eye shadows by my directions! I’ll apologise in advance!

The first shade I took was on the one on the left side of the palette on the second row down. I just ran this through my crease and up slightly so that I could create a gradient, though I did end up using only this shade as a transition colour in the end! As Morphe eye shadows are such a dream to work with, it blended really easily with the original brush I was using and was super pigmented, meaning my socket would look extra defined than what it probably already does!

I then mixed this colour with the one just below it to make a much richer, darker brown (the previous one was much lighter and had an orange-y tone to it) and applied this on the outer quarter of my eye. I then blended this in towards the rest of my eye so it reached the outer third to make all the transitions seem much more seamless. I really loved how this looked because sometimes transition colours and the outer third colours just don’t seem to match but these one’s did beautifully. These are also the two colours I ran under my lower lash line.

Finally, I took the middle colour on the far right of the palette and applied it to the rest (i.e. the centre) of my lid. This is a cool-toned, dark brown with silver shimmers in which really help to lift the eye shadow and not make it look or feel as flat as it could if it was matte. I think most people would be quite intimidated by a colour like this, but it can, and does, look stunning when used appropriately. This look could be worn even darker for a night-time look, which I would definitely consider after trialing it! The last few touches would include deepening the outer third if the shimmer has covered it slightly, applying some eye liner and putting some cool-toned highlight in the inner corner/on the brow bone to lift the look even more.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing EOTD’s, so I will try to create more for you in the future! It’s just difficult to do so if I’m at school because I don’t really have the time to experiment in the morning – it’s just a case of ‘get it on’! It’s half-term at the moment, though, so expect some different looks to be featured on this blog! Don’t forget to let me know what you’re favourite eye makeup look is of the moment!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

 

2 thoughts on “EOTD: Dark, Cool-Toned, Shimmery Smokey Eye”

Leave a Reply

