Simple Kind To Skin Refreshing Facial Wash Gel Review

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be chatting you through my thoughts and findings whilst using the Simple Kind To Skin Refreshing Facial Wash Gel. I feel like I haven’t done enough reviews recently, so I’m going to head back onto that bandwagon! I’ve been using this since around the end of November/beginning of December time, and I like to take a little bit longer when reviewing skincare products to gather everything I need because it does take a while for your skin to adjust to it, as well as the product. Anyway, I will now, after all this time, get on with reviewing it for you!

16736214_965906360213260_462738523_n

As always, first things first (I’m the realest): the packaging. This is in a slightly different packaging to what I’d previously experienced with Simple as it’s plastic but it’s that type of waterproof plastic that doesn’t mould or get damaged by water. I find this useful because I do tend to use, and hence keep, this product in the bath/shower, so I know nothing nasty can happen to the product inside. Like all the other Simple skincare products, it displays all of the information on the front and back of the packaging in an easy-to-read manner. I don’t read this as religiously as I would the first few products I bought from this brand because I have formed a trust with it (as if it’s a person!) and I know that they all roughly say the same thing: it contains no nasties and is perfect for every skin type, including sensitive. But, of course, it’s there if you want it. It’s also got a *click* shut-lid, the *click* of it assuring me it’s closed. This makes it perfect for travelling, even if it is slightly larger than what I’d be willing to carry when doing so (150ml). It is quite a flexible plastic, though, so I’m sure it would be relatively adjustable. I have found, also, that the *click* is much less *click-y* the more I’ve used it and the more water that has got into it. It could just be me, but bear that in my mind for travelling, as well. The product also squeezes out very easily and there is none wasted (that I have found, anyway!).

This is a colourless product, assuring me that there are no artificial additives and so Simple’s keeping to their word (not that I ever doubted them!). It doesn’t smell the most appetizing and is very chemical-y, but this isn’t something I overly care about. It’s not a very strong smell and doesn’t last once the product is wiped off the skin like others might.

16684813_965906386879924_1302082607_n

I, personally, love this product. The instructions guide you to lather this in-between your hands/fingers before applying onto damp skin and removing straight after, and it does exactly as it says. It lathers to form a frothy, white texture and can be used on any areas of the face. I use hardly any at all, but that is dependent on the amount of area you plan on covering. It also feels really nice and cooling on the face and successfully removes any traces of dirt or makeup left from the day. I will only use this twice a week, though, because it can dry out my skin and I don’t really need to – twice a week is enough to fully cleanse the skin for my personal use and application of makeup. When I use it for this amount of time, it also balances out any oiliness without completely drying out your skin, but I think this is dependent on each individual and their skin type. This may have been the placebo effect, but after use I do find that it calms the redness in my cheeks slightly, proving it’s accessibility for those with sensitive skin. There isn’t much more I can say other than it does what it says and I really enjoy using it!

16729843_965906450213251_1589980901_n

Finally, price and accessibility. This is a very well-known brand in the UK, so the Facial Wash Gel is available in Boots, Superdrug and most supermarkets. It retails for £3.45 in Boots and £3.29 in Superdrug (I don’t know why there’s a difference, but Superdrug’s currently got an offer on meaning it’s £2.19 at the moment), which is very affordable in consideration of it being a second cleanser and what it promises. I do love Simple, though, so I don’t think this was a surprise to anyone! This is a brand headed towards my kind of age group (teenagers) which would explain the price point and accessibility, but I’m not complaining!

Would I recommend it to you? Of course I would! I think it is amazing for what it is and I don’t think I could really imagine any other necessary qualities I could add to it if it was from a higher brand. I think for someone of my age, it really does help to introduce significant stages of skincare from a very early point so brings it to our attention much more. Also, it’s cheap and very easy to get hold of, so this will be a brand I continue to use and test out for years to come, I think!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – let me know what other products you would like to see reviewed on this blog and I will get to that for you! If you have this Facial Wash Gel, let me know what you think of it or whether I have now convinced you to get one for yourself!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

4 thoughts on “Simple Kind To Skin Refreshing Facial Wash Gel Review”

  1. I used to really love this face wash but then I started to find it didn’t really do much for my skin anymore and it wasn’t clearing it up like it used to, so I switched to the moisturising facial wash from simple and that helped my skin (which is quite dry) feel nice and moisturised again for a short while, and then it sort of stopped working for me. I feel like that’s what happens with simple, or at least personally, they’re really good for about a month and then it’s kind of just meh. I swapped to the neutrogena grapefruit wash and I love it, really moisturising and not too harsh on my dry skin, while it cleanses really well. Neutrogena also do some amazing scrubs, though I’ve never tried a simple scrub.

    1. I think for now as I’m younger and I haven’t really been using the face wash for too long, I do still see the difference and do still enjoy using it. I do get what you mean though, and I will try out the Neutrogena ones once I’ve used up my Simple one. It’s still benefiting my skin as opposed to damaging it, so for that reasoning I will keep using it for now. Skincare’s just so individual to each person and I think that’s why I put off writing this blog post so much! I will take what you say into consideration, though, and think about other products to use. Rachel xx

      1. Don’t get me wrong I still think it’s a good face wash and really cost effective so I’d try it again but I just think it’s weird how on me simple skincare stops working after a bit x

      2. I think it is just based on skin type and, eventually, our skin will ‘get used’ to all the products we apply to it, some just appear more apparent or are a little bit quicker to notice. But, as you say, it is cost effective and I do quite enjoy using it for now. Thank you for letting me know how it affects your skin though! Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

