Maybelline’s Pink Gold VS. Sleek’s Organza Eye Shadow

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be comparing two drugstore eye shadows for you, one from Maybelline and another from a Sleek palette. These two are so similar and I have found myself sometimes not knowing which one to go for when I was creating a specific look so I thought today I would write a little blog post to weigh up the pro’s and con’s of both and see if I can finally decide! I think this will be more suited to absolute makeup geeks like myself or makeup artists because it is going to be quite in-depth about colour and formula, but, of course, everyone is welcome to read this blog post, it’s just a little heads up! I have written individual reviews on these so it will just be comparing them, not explaining a thousand things about each one, as well.

Colour

16521625_961876190616277_199012551_n
Left: Pink Gold Right: Organza

As I’m sure you are all aware by now, these colours are both shimmery pale pinks which can be worn on their own or in combination with other colours. However, when swatching I did notice some differences. For example, Organza is much more peachy toned whereas Pink Gold is a truer pink shade. I genuinely didn’t notice this before but it looks really obvious when they’re side by side! This could effect what other colours you pair it with and what they compliment, and I do think that Pink Gold is much more suitable to a dark, pink smokey eye because of it and Organza can be used for daytime only, though you can wear it however you want.

Formula

16468925_961875950616301_862628236_n
Organza

As I’m sure you are aware, Pink Gold is a Maybelline Colour Tattoo so is a cream/gel formula which I prefer to apply with my finger. Unlike other cream eye shadows, this doesn’t crease at all and is super pigmented. However, Organza is a powder consistency with relatively big chunks of glitter in, which I personally don’t mind. I’m a ‘more the merrier’ kind of person when it comes to glitter! This, therefore, doesn’t crease either but I find it applies with much more pigmentation when I use my finger to do so. Also, just keep in mind that I use primer under powder eye shadows but not under cream eye shadows, particularly as this one promises to be a ’24hr’ lasting one.

Wear

As I think we all expect from the Maybelline Colour Tattoo’s, this does last all day/night with very little applied. This doesn’t wear off or lose any colour throughout this time, either, and the glitter also remains really well. I think it also works quite well with the gel eyeliner I use over it. On the other hand, Organza wears much more noticeably and very little remains at the end of a school day. I think it lasts a lot longer if you’re taking it quite chilled and not doing much, but when you’re rushing about it wears off quite easily. Some glitter is still evident but not much and some of my eyeliner can also come off with it. Basically, Pink Gold maintains much more colour than Organza and is much more heavy duty.

Price and Accessibility

16507062_961876053949624_1818446302_n
Pink Gold

As I mentioned at the beginning, these are both drugstore products but are on, what I consider, ‘different scales of drugstore’. This basically means I consider Maybelline to be of a higher brand quality than others, like Sleek. Sleek is kind of middle-high but Maybelline does top it slightly. This is also shown in the prices. One pot of Pink Gold is £4.99, which is relatively okay and I wouldn’t consider extortionate. However, the palette that Organza is in is £8.99, which means (technically) the eye shadow on it’s own costs around £0.75 each and is really good quality for money. Although this would now seem like the obvious choice, you do need to buy the whole palette for this one eye shadow I have just mentioned. It is a stunning palette and all the colours are beautifully pigmented but is it worth it if you want this one colour? Probably not and if you just want a shimmery, pale pink, everyday eye shadow, I would be more likely recommend to you Pink Gold. It is your choice though after everything you’ve read in this blog post. Pink Gold is available from Boots and Superdrug and Organza is also available from Boots and Superdrug (in the Sleek i-Divine palette in Oh So Special).

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love comparing two similar products for you to see which is best so let me know what others you would like to see! Don’t forget to let me know which product you prefer if you own either/both of them or which one you have now been convinced to go for!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

