Her Success Is Not Your Failure

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I thought I would talk to you about my new-found favourite quote ‘Her Success Is Not Your Failure’. This is one I’ve only found recently but it immediately stemmed about a thousand different thoughts in my head that I thought I would share with you. I literally found it at a time in which I needed it the most and I do find it quite applicable to my current life situation, but it can be heard and thought of in any stage of life.

This quote resonated with me a lot at this point in my life because I am currently studying and revising for my exams in the summer and the mocks I am undergoing at this moment in time. I am naturally a high achiever; I don’t want 10 A* or anything like that, but I really do want to reach my full potential in terms of my grades and my coursework. Some of these things I’ve worked towards for 11/nearly 12 years so, of course, it’s going to mean a lot to me, and it will also determine my future. However, there are some subjects I am quite concerned about and, I’ve found, that during school if you’re whole class does badly on a test you just think ‘meh, no one else has done well so I won’t be singled out’. I am very guilty of that, as I’m sure many people are! I have now found, though, that it literally doesn’t matter whether this person or that person has/hasn’t failed or whether only 10 people turned up to after school revision, it will impact you and you only. This is a point which has stressed me out to the max.!

Anyway, linking that back to the quote, I am struggling a lot in my 3 Science’s at the moment (just as an example). I’m in the highest set and I did feel quite honoured to be chosen for that because there’s literally 20 of us who were chosen to do it. Unfortunately, life has got in the way these past few years which has impacted my learning and so my general understanding of the subjects (particularly Physics and Chemistry). Basically, I am falling behind and it is seriously bringing me down. I’m still expected to pass which is (in the grand scheme of things) good enough for me but when nearly everyone else in the class is expected A’s/A*’s, it really does make you stand out and just feel like you shouldn’t be in that class. I am now, in turn, revising my tiny, little brain off and yesterday, as a little insight, I revised for 7 hours solid just on Chemistry. All that useful crude oil knowledge is now somewhere in my brain floating around ready to get lost in the great abyss again! Basically, I shouldn’t be stressing myself out this much but I still push on because I want to prove people wrong and if people do achieve much, much higher than me, I’m going to feel really disappointed in myself. I’m just contradicting the quote, I realise that, I’m sorry!

But whether it’s your exams, work, relationships, whatever, we are all going through the same thing. We still feel terrible despite all the work we put in for a mediocre end result and want desperately what everyone else has. Just think, you may not have got the promotion at work but you still go home to a loving family each night, which some people may not have. Despite not having the best Science grades, I still receive hot dinners every single night without fail. Your work colleagues, classmates or just general people in the world may not have that, so we are all lucky in our own respects and there will always be time to try again. I’m going to be honest with you, I hate Science with a passion because I don’t understand anything anymore, my brain literally just shuts down, but the promise of no longer having to do it in 4 and a half months is keeping me going! There is a light at the end of every tunnel and you are, and will always be, your own individual you – no one goes through your life or sees things through your eyes other than you. Trust me when I say this, you are doing great, you are living another day and you are worth each and every little bit of success you achieve, whether that’s a pay rise, a new fridge or just finishing that little piece of homework you have left! You are worth it and just remember you will succeed in your world, not anyone else’s. I think that, in itself, meant more to me than anything else.

And there we have it! I hope you enjoyed this blog post – got a bit deep towards the end but I love writing these chatty, life-y blog posts which, hopefully, benefit you! Let me know what your story behind this quote is or what other quotes are inspiring you right now because they are my biggest guilty pleasure!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

