Collection Highlight and Sculpt Contour Kit Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you all of my thoughts and findings with the Collection Highlight and Sculpt Contour Kit. I was very lucky to receive this from one of my friends for Christmas because he knows what a makeup freak I am, and I have been using it on and off since. The reason I say on and off is because I wear makeup mainly to school so I only want to use the things I know and love and not have to worry about being late because of my contour (though that has happened a couple of times, already!). Anyway, here is my review of the product!

16344170_957717344365495_1706954298_n

The first thing I’d like to chat you through is the packaging. This is in a simple black casing with windows on the front in order to see the highlight and the contour shade with the name of the product/kit labelled clearly in a contrasting silver/white. I quite like the little window as it allows me to see which palette I’m picking up if I’m in a rush and it just makes everything a little bit easier. This is relatively large in comparison to my other contour kit and the pans for each product are also quite big and of a similar size to each other. There is also a small mirror at the bottom of the inner part of the lid which I’m not too keen on and I actually think, aesthetically, it would’ve looked better without this. I don’t find any use for it due to it’s size, either, and just use a normal hand mirror when doing my contour. It also doesn’t come with a brush, which I don’t mind because I tend not to use the brushes that come in compacts and it assures me that more time and money has gone into the product itself, so I’m not too fussed over that.  The casing itself is plastic so it doesn’t feel overly expensive but it makes travelling so much easier and I don’t mind that if the product inside is worth it. It also clicks shut but easily opens and closes, so I don’t have to stress about breaking a nail (when I have them!) or another part of my body but I know I can trust it to remain closed when travelling or general moving circumstances.

16358575_957718027698760_1712271637_n
Highlight on the left, contour on the right

The colour of the kit I have (by the way, because it was bought for me, I know know if it is tiered in terms of colour or if it’s one for everyone, so just bear with me on this!) suits my skin tone if I want a dramatic contour, though it is probably better for a tan!  This has some orange-y undertones but is mainly a dark brown colour which I seem to spend forever blending out! It is quite cool-toned, so maybe it is better as a harsh contour for the paler version of my face! The highlight is quite champagne-y and is a bit too dark for me at the moment so, again, I will have to wait until Summer when I’m a bit more tanned to try that theory out!

The product itself is so, so pigmented! You need the tiniest amount and you have cheekbones to the God’s! The contour shade is the most pigmented one I own despite being the cheapest, so it obviously wins on that front, as well as lasting all day long without fail! It is fairly easy to blend out, but it is one of those products where it’s better to be safe than sorry by only using a little bit and gradually building up. I have used my usual setting powder and my beauty blender with excess foundation over it to try and cool it down a bit but it should be a gradual thing! I have learnt from experience! The highlight shade actually isn’t that pigmented, and I’m much more of a highlight person than a contour. It is shimmery and beautiful for a day-to-day look, but I like my bold on a night out, which is when I would use the contour shade. It does last all day, but I wouldn’t say it’s as noticeably pigmented or bold as the contour shade. This is down to personal preference but I will put this in my day-to-day highlight collection when I’m going to school or whatever.

16402245_957718014365428_1021820848_n

Finally, price and availability. This contour kit, as it’s from Collection is available from Boots and Superdrug and retails for £4.19. Collection is renowned for being an extremely inexpensive brand with some of the best, staple products known to mankind! I think you would expect the highlight’s quality and the cheaper packaging for this price, but the contour shade is just amazing considering! I think Collection, as a general brand, is perfect for people who are just starting out on makeup or don’t wear it very often so don’t want to spend too much money on it! I’ve even convinced my Mum to turn towards Collection, this is how far it’s got!

Would I recommend it to you guys? Of course I would; if you don’t mind packaging and love a neutral highlight but a bold contour, this is the kit for you! Also, for that price, how can you not say yes to it, even to just try it out? As I said earlier, though, it’s going to get most wear on night’s out so it could last me quite a long time!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing reviews so let me know what other products you would like to see mentioned on this blog! Also, don’t forget to let me know what you think of this contour kit if you own it for yourself or whether I have now convinced you to try it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

5 thoughts on “Collection Highlight and Sculpt Contour Kit Review”

    1. Thank you! You are more than welcome, after trying it for myself, I couldn’t not review it! And as a little update, the highlight really works for school days or days where you’re not doing much at all! Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

