January Favourites 2017

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today marks the final day of the longest month of the year! This month started quite randomly in my friend’s garden and is ending with me sat in the exam hall all week – what a turn of events! January for me is just a month to get through because February is, of course, my birthday month and after that it becomes Spring and it gets ever-so-slightly warmer! Anyway, this hasn’t the prevented me from finding a fair few favourites for you, all of which I have loved and successfully helped me survive January!

My first favourite, of course, is the Morphe 35K palette. I was very lucky to receive this for Christmas and all of my makeup woes have been put to bed! This is the biggest palette I own and it’s literally going to last me forever, I’m so excited! This contains mainly neutral-ish colours with a variety of shimmery and matte shades, meaning it’s perfect for daytime or evening (or both, all at the same time!). All of these shades are so pigmented and creamy, and the lack of fallout I’ve had has been life changing! This is fairly inexpensive for what it is and contains as well, so I would highly recommend this to any makeup lover and every makeup artist should have one of these palettes in their kit! They blend so beautifully, they are honestly a dream to work with! I’ve used this nearly everyday in January and the colours I’ve lent towards most hardly have a dent in them – this is going to be loved forevermore and I cannot wait to get my hands on some more of their palettes! This is available from Beauty Bay.

16402124_957717084365521_1354027328_n

Heading onto bath and body, I have been loving the Imperial Leather Comforting Marshmallow Soap (because I’m so fun at the grand age of 15!). I tend to use this for shaving and only started to because it was just in the shower being used by the rest of the family, but (from previous experience) I knew how good Imperial Leather soaps are. It felt like pay-day! This smells amazing, and I know I love every scent under the sun, but it’s really accessible to a lot of people; it’s not sickly sweet like some marshmallow products can be, it has some floral notes in there but it still contains a strong, long-lasting scent. I also struggle, like most people, with dry skin at this time of year but this soap doesn’t dry it out any further and it actually feels as if it’s moisturising them, making it perfect for shaving. It also lathers really nicely and makes you smell so good for quite a large amount of time. This is available from Boots, Superdrug and most supermarkets.

This will come as no surprise to a lot of people, but I have been loving my black Vans this month. Again, I was lucky enough to receive these for Christmas and I have been in them constantly. Despite the slightly embarrassing encounter in the shop where I had to size down to a UK 3.5 (there goes my final piece of dignity!), they do look amazing literally with anything! I could wear them with leggings, a dress or a playsuit and still look decent and not entirely like I live on Benefits Street! As I was saying to my Mum when I bought them, I did kind of want them for the label because I believe everyone should have a pair of Vans in their collection and they are stunning! They’re also the only pair of shoes I haven’t scuffed up/ruined in some way just yet, which is always a positive! They feel really nice and sturdy on my feet as well, something that I think is a necessity in a shoe! These are available from Vans.

I also have a few random favourites this month which have been dominating my life. The first one is eating disorder recovery Instagram pages, which is very long-winded but I think that’s the correct way to name them! I found these at the beginning of the month when I wasn’t feeling too confident with my body or size after all the Christmas weight I had put on and they have boosted my mental self esteem so much. I’ve been following one and I look forward to her posts everyday, and, despite not having had an eating disorder myself, I really do resonate with her in terms of the mental side of things and it’s been a huge comfort to me that I’m not the only one who thinks these kind of things. But yes, if you need a little mental boost or are going through an eating disorder yourself, you should check these pages out because they will seriously help you. I think most of them have the hashtag of #edrecovery or just #ed, you may have to look around but there are some great ones (‘ed’ standing for ‘eating disorder’).

Finally, I have been loving some actual new music this month! Who’d have thought it! The first song I fell in love with was Million Reasons by Lady Gaga. I used to be very anti-Lady Gaga during the Poker Face stage because I just thought she was a bit crazy, (and not for the right reasons) but now, since her more emotional music has come out, I really do enjoy her voice. I’m starting to teach myself to sing it because it is so beautiful and something I can actually relate to in a previous part of my life. I just think it’s stunning and would highly recommend everyone to listen to it!

I’ve also fallen in love with the American jazz singer Gregory Porter (who is still alive, it’s a miracle for me!). I first heard him singing live on a chat show and it was one of those moment where I was like ‘your soul and your music, just marry me now!’. Long-term readers will know how much I love me my jazz music so finding a current, up-and-coming singer has been a dream come true for me! I’m still waiting to find the one particular song that grabs me, but I love his cover of When You Wish Upon a Star. Loving those Disney vibes, as well! As I continue my quest of all the music he has every produced, I will let you know which songs will be my new all-time favourites!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I can’t believe January is over already, next thing for me is turning 16, how crazy is that! Let me know what you think of any of my Favourites I have mentioned to you or what your Favourites for this month have been! Also, let me know if you want any more information on any of the items listed and I will try my best to give you all that you need!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

2 thoughts on “January Favourites 2017”

Leave a Reply

