Statement Lipsticks for the Bold and the Beginners

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would share with you my favourite lip products that I use when I want to create a statement lip. I have also, however, decided to add in alternatives if you are more experienced with makeup or a beginner because I know that some of you will look at certain products and immediately be scared due to the intensity of them. Some of them may appear a bit intimidating, but they are all tried, tested and very much loved by moi! This was actually inspired by how much I wear black and prefer to wear a statement lip instead of a statement outfit – if that also sounds like you, this will be right up your alley!

wp_20170121_13_35_36_pro

The most obvious colour, to most, would be red. I love me a red lip and will literally find any excuse to wear one at any time of year! On the other hand, they can also be quite scary as they are very high maintenance but, I can assure you, there is a product out there no matter your ability! The product I have chosen for you bold people is the MAC Matte Lipstick in Diva; I love this lipstick with a passion, as long-term readers will know! This lasts for such a long time and is so perfectly pigmented, you literally won’t need to top it up during the day at all! Despite all this, it can be tricky to apply if you are just a beginner and I wouldn’t use this to introduce a shyer person to a red lip as it’s slightly on the darker side. It is a gorgeous statement, though! To read my review of it, you can click HERE. For the beginners, I thought this red lip gloss would look stunning as you can’t go wrong with applying it, it leaves a red tint without appearing too harsh and it doesn’t dry out the lips! This is a much lighter red and if you prefer a sheerer colour, this is the one for you! Unfortunately, this was the Tanya Burr limited edition lip gloss in Mistletoe Kisses from a couple of Christmas’ ago, though I will try and find another red lip gloss that is just as good for you!

wp_20170121_13_37_09_pro

The next lip colour I love to use as a statement is a pink. I personally think this is such a versatile colour that can be worn all wear round with any eye makeup look and there is one to suit each skin tone out there. I recently bought a new one from Topshop in the shade Brighton Rock in the Christmas sales and, even though I’ve only swatched it, I think it would be perfect for those who prefer bolder makeup! It is a very hot pink that would honestly look gorgeous with a tan and very neutral eyes. Even for me, it might take a little while until I find the perfect way for me to wear it with my skin tone but I am determined to do so! The one I’ve chosen for the beginners is much darker and purple-toned, though it is actually much more wearable than what it appears. Nine times out of ten this will be my go-to colour if I don’t want to wear a nude or a gloss because it is so beautiful. This is the Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Sugar Plum (available from Boots and Superdrug), which I have very clearly been loving! It also has blue undertones so your teeth naturally appear whiter, and it’s really nice and creamy on the lips. I highly recommend this lipstick to anyone, whether you prefer bold or beginners makeup! To read my review of this lipstick, you can click HERE.

wp_20170121_13_38_20_pro

The final colour I love to find any excuse to wear is orange. This is my absolute favourite colour so wearing it on my lips just channels my inner love for it! I will admit it is sometimes difficult to pull off, but I think I’ve found the products to do it! For my bold makeup lovers, you will love the Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Coral In Gold (available from Boots and Superdrug), which, as you can tell, is a very vibrant, true orange shade. This doesn’t actually seem too scary when applied onto the lips with a tan; in fact, it looks stunning! In the summer, this is the colour I’m most excited for! For my beginners, I have the Zoeva Lip Crayon in Sweet Heat (available from Beauty Bay) which is a pinky/coral with a much more balmy texture. This was one of the first lip products I ever received and it still applies so beautifully without looking overly vibrant on the lips! This is probably the easiest out of the three beginner products to wear if you are quite shy with makeup and it doesn’t need re-applying too much; I don’t know why but I sometimes find that balmy lip products don’t come off like normal lipsticks. For example, if you eat, it won’t come off too noticeably around the centre. I don’t know why, but it’s just something I’ve noticed.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I really liked separating the products into ‘bold’ and ‘beginner’ so let me know if you do as well! Let me know which products you liked and whether you would consider yourself ‘bold’ or a ‘beginner’! Also, let me know what other statement lip colours you like or what you would like to see more of on this blog!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

