EOTD: Shimmery Bronze using Morphe 35K

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you yet another makeup look I loved during the festive period (though that does feel like a decade ago now!). For Christmas I was very lucky to receive the Morphe 35K Palette and so decided to base this look around that, and this was my first little play around. I am so impressed with this palette so far, though I doubt I will be uploading a review on it because there are so many colours in it! However, if you would really like to see one, just let me know and I’ll figure out a way of doing it. Anyway, I will now chat you through how I created this gorgeous, bronze smokey eye!

This is the makeup look I created:

As you can tell, I really went to town with all the brown shades I could find, but I really wanted the main lid colour to stand out. The colours do have a slight orange undertone so really do compliment my blue eyes (always a must for me!). This is also super versatile; it can be worn at any time of day at any time of year with any colour lip! It’s perfect really, and so easy! I may have included some steps you don’t want or require so just tailor it to your preferences, but it is so simple!

The first thing I, of course, had to do was apply a primer and set it with some powder. As it was my first time with this palette, I thought it was best to be on the safe side as I knew it would help blending/longevity/colour vibrancy, and I was out for the whole day so I couldn’t always top up if needed! Also, none of the eye shadows have names, which is frustrating for all of us but I’ll just have to get my best descriptions out!

The only palette I used was the Morphe 35K (available from Beauty Bay), which is a miracle for me! I’m always going from palette to palette but this had every colour I could possibly need right here! As per usual, I wanted to create a seamless, well-blended gradient in my crease, so I began with this pale, grey-toned brown. Although this looks completely like a muted brown, it actually looks slightly pink in the crease! Maybe it’s my bad eyesight but I swear to you, I see pink! I blended this quite far up past my crease to reach the effect I wanted.

I then headed into the colour next to it, which is this orange-toned, pale brown. This is going to be my new go-to crease colour, I can sense it in the air! These colours are so pigmented so I would be a bit more careful with these darker colours, though with the previous one it wasn’t much of a bother for me. They do blend out pretty well, however, so you can always turn to that if need be! This just defined the crease even more and allowed me to introduce the next few darker shades really easily. To finish this step, I blended the two colours together with a fluffier blending brush, though you can do this at any stage.

I next decided to add the glitter! I used this gold pressed glitter eye shadow and applied it all over my lid, underneath the crease shades. This colour was so pigmented (as you can see) and the glitter was really evident on the lid, something which isn’t always notable for certain brands/eye shadows. This is so perfect for the festive period as it is quite warm-toned but I know you’ll catch me wearing it in June! I was so happy with how well it matched the second crease colour because that is always the fear if you don’t swatch them beforehand!

Finally, I added this slightly darker, warm-toned brown on the outer third of my crease and very outer edge of my lid. I personally like a lot of definition on the eye and so I knew I had to add this final step, though I know it will look gorgeous without it for a day-to-day look. This also proves their pigmentation because on the outer edge you can’t really see any glitter from the glitter eye shadow at all. I then finished with a *little* bit of eyeliner and mascara, and was good to go!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing EOTD’s, as I think you have been able to tell over the past couple of weeks! Let me know what makeup you received for Christmas, if any, or what your favourite eye makeup looks are at the moment!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

One thought on “EOTD: Shimmery Bronze using Morphe 35K”

Leave a Reply

