How To: Gain Motivation After Christmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

At this time of year, I think we can all admit that feeling motivated and getting back ‘into the swing of things’ is more than difficult! It’s dark, cold and we don’t have the promise of presents at the end of it to keep us going! Something that I’ve actually been struggling with is my weight and the amount I put on over Christmas, as well as trying to get my head back on track for school and my upcoming exams. I just thought I would take some time to chat you through my tips of how to get motivated once more and what’s worked for me!

Fitness DVD’s

I know this isn’t everyone’s preferred method of exercise, but if you have low confidence/self-esteem like me, this is something worth trying. Last year I actually received the Charlotte Crosby 3 Minute Bum Blitz DVD (available from Ebay) and really enjoyed doing it last year! Despite only doing it once so far this year, I do still look forward to it; it’s just a case of lack of time now that prevents me from doing more of it. I particularly like this DVD because it’s not too intimidating: each workout is literally three minutes long and the hardest bit is the warm up! It also allows me to do it in the comfort of my own home, with no one watching or judging me and means I can go for as long or as little as I want. Just introducing this slowly really does benefit the more it builds into your system and routine and, before you know it, you are choosing to workout! I also wanted to toned my legs and bum, hence why I chose this particular one. There is a Belly Blitz one which focuses more on weight loss so there are other options out there from loads of different people if toning your bum isn’t your cup of tea!

Little and Often

This goes for exercise and revision. Something I find I do is overwork myself – on weekdays the only rest I get is when I’m sleeping and sometimes when I’m eating. I tend to focus all of my time to schoolwork/revision and make time for this blog or other things at the weekend, but that does mean I cram stuff in a lot. Despite thinking your doing more good than bad, overworking your brain will actually start to reverse the process of revising and (I know from experience!) it will literally turn your brain to mush! If you don’t feel like revising because you’ve already done a lot of work that day or you just don’t think it would benefit you, don’t do it – you will waste your time and you’ll only have to go over it again anyway! Though that isn’t a valid excuse if you’re just being lazy!

Don’t Put Too Much Pressure on Yourself

Finally, please remember this one (as I will try to!)! My final exams start in May, yet I’m revising as if they’re first thing Monday morning! Yes, I have mocks at the end of the month but they’re just mocks. I’m still going to try and am revising so much for them, but it’s not the end of the world if I get a C instead of a B at this stage. It’s the same with exercise; you will just link exercise to forcing yourself to do something you don’t want to, so it’s fine if you miss a day! Unless you are on a strict routine for some beneficial reason, don’t overwork yourself and, hence, not enjoy it. Life is about enjoying yourself, so go out and do it!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I like shorter, chatty blog posts so let me know if you would like to see more of them and, if so, what on! Also, don’t forget to let me know what tips you have for gaining motivation or getting back into your old routine because a little goes a long way!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

2 thoughts on “How To: Gain Motivation After Christmas”

Leave a Reply

