EOTD: Drugstore Shimmery Barbie Pink

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you a much more neutral eye makeup look than I may have previously shown you from the recent festive period! This is one that was actually inspired by a picture I found on Instagram which I looked at and thought ‘I have those colours’, ‘I have the capability to do that’, ‘I’m going to do it!’. That’s literally my thought processes throughout my life! This is a much more feminine yet still super easy pink eye makeup look that I honestly think I could get away with for school! It’s a simple way to introduce adding definition without it being over dramatic or too dark, which I think most people would expect from hearing that technique. Also, I was having a really bad eyeliner day, so just ignore that!

This is the makeup look I created:

As you can see, there’s still a fair amount of darkness to make it a little bit more defined and smokey but I still wanted to work with ordinary, ‘day-to-day’ colours. I think I was quite successful in that, and every product used was drugstore, so this is 100% affordable and accessible for everyone! It can be quite difficult to match lip colours to this, so I just applied a nude lip gloss and it seemed to do the job very well!

The first product I used was a cream eye shadow, so I didn’t have to use my usual strict routine of primer and powder! I used the Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in Pink Gold (available from Boots and Superdrug) and applied this all over my lid with my index finger. I’ve owned this eye shadow for years now and it’s hardly got a dent in it despite the amount I use it! Long-term readers will know how much I love this eye shadow range and how I literally swear by them! I just blended out the edges at the crease with a fluffy blending brush.

I then headed into my Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (available from Boots and Superdrug) and first of all used the colour Gateau. This is the purple/ice-toned pink in the palette that is slightly darker than Pink Gold so managed to create a decent amount of, what I call, ‘daytime definition’. I just applied this on the outer third of the eye and blended it with Pink Gold so they look conjoined, as if two have become one *cue Spice Girls*.

From the same palette, I took the colour The Mail and applied this is my crease. This is my go-to crease shade from this palette as it’s a pale-ish brown that effectively defines the eye but isn’t too dark or harsh for everyday. It also has orange undertones so helps compliment blue eyes, something I always seem to be talking about! I finally blended out the edges once more and added a little bit of eyeliner!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love having a look at new makeup looks and finding new things to try! If you have a particular picture or look you would like to try, let me know in the comments or email me the picture so that I can re-create it for you!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

