EOTD: NYE 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you the eye makeup look I wore for this New Year’s Eve as I actually decided to be sociable and leave my house that evening! I decided I wanted to do something a little bit different and out of my comfort zone because if not now, then when?! I also based it entirely on one specific eye shadow I wanted to use, which has become a common theme recently! Anyway, this is perfectly simply which anyone can do, all you need is a night out, a dark outfit and a little bit of confidence!

And here is the look I created:

As you can see, it is quite dark but I still managed to include a little bit of glitter in there! Couldn’t go on a night out and not wear any glitter, could I? This is also so easy and is one that I am very likely to do again!

Because I wanted this to stay on all night and appear very smokey and seamless, I first of all applied a primer with some setting powder on top. The primer also helps colours/glitters stand out even more and the powder will reduce the amount of clumps of powder that may end up forming during the evening.

I then took a small, dense blending brush and used the shade Buck from the Urban Decay Naked Palette (available from Feel Unique) in my crease. This is my go-to transition shade that works with every other eye shadow colour ever so I knew I could rely on it! I also didn’t want my crease too dark or overly defined because it would, with the other darker eye shadow, look as if I just had a black eye! This is also the colour I ran along my bottom lash line once I’d completed everything else on my eyes just to make it a little bit more evening-y and smokey.

From the same palette, I took the shade Darkhorse, the one that I had wanted to use for ages! I applied it on a small, flat-headed eye shadow brush because I wanted it to be really precise – I could think of nothing worse than having fallout with such a dark colour! This is a very dark black-toned brown that is perfect for the evening and I think has some khaki-y/green-y undertones that matched the outfit I wore perfectly. It had small amounts of shimmers but not enough where it was too noticeable. I just put this all over my lid and really pushed it in to reduce the amount of fallout there could’ve potentially been.

I then decided that my eyes looked a bit too flat and 2D so wanted to use a glitter/pigment to really brighten it up. I, hence, went into my W7 Neon Nights Palette (available from Ebay) and used the pressed silver glitter from it on the centre of my lid, using my finger to do so. I find that with this eye shadow, in particular, it appears much more pigmented when used with your finger rather than a brush. It allowed some reflexes on my lid in different lights and just brightened it all up a bit! I wanted dark, but not too dark! I genuinely think that actually helped lift the whole look a little bit, so I would highly recommend using that technique if you think a look is too dark! I used my little finger for it so that I could build it up and keep it quite precise, though I have really small fingers so anyone of them would do, depending on the amount of glitter I want and how far across my lid.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing EOTD’s and I have a few more lined up for you, so look out for those! Let me know what you wore on New Year’s Eve to welcome in 2017 or what your go-to smokey eye makeup look is! Also, don’t forget to let me know what you think of this look or what more you would like to see on this blog!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

