Boxing Day Sales Haul: New Look, Boohoo, Dorothy Perkins

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will finally be sharing with you all the things I bought during the Boxing Day Sales. I don’t know about you, but I genuinely enjoy and look forward to the sales after Christmas; it is something I get myself out of bed for and we actually do it as a family, so it’s a nice little trip for us! This year I was very lucky and received some money and vouchers which I spent as soon as the sales came out! Anyway, I will try to remember prices but there are some that there is no way I will ever know!

15934406_943517005785529_1500845601_n

The first place I went to was New Look. I think I’ve already thrown my receipt away but everything I bought came to £25 in total, as that was the voucher I had. The first thing I bought from there was this gorgeous khaki green choker neck top. I’ve already worn this for New Year’s Eve and it definitely caught people’s attention! Despite being long-sleeved, it is much more of a top as oppose to a jumper because it’s quite thin, but for a night out it does look stunning! It has a ribbed-like effect and a very low V-cut, which I personally like to show off my assets a little bit! I thought the choker would annoy me a bit because I’ve never worn one before but I think it’s one of those things you’ve just got to get used to.

15942107_943517035785526_593638084_n

The next thing I bought I’ve also already worn but it was the item I was most excited for! It’s this chestnut bardot top which is made out of a silk-like material, making it really shiny and quite easy to wipe things off of (which I need being the clumsy oaf I am!). I personally love the bardot style and this is something I could wear for everyday or dress up for the evening. It’s really lightweight and floaty, meaning it doesn’t matter what size I am or how much I’ve eaten, it will still fit and look really flattering. I also received a fair few compliments when I wore this out too, which always boosts the self-esteem slightly!

15934712_943517062452190_108958098_n

The penultimate thing I bought from New Look was this grey cross-cut style top with mid-length sleeves. It’s not ribbed like the first one but is the same kind of weight and thickness, so it’s not warm enough to be worn on it’s own at this time of year but it is still stunning, dressed up or down. I actually really like this style (though you can’t really see it, I’m sorry!) as I find it quite flattering but still very simple. It might make odd tan lines in the summer but I think it is more suited to these colder months! This and the khaki top are quite tight-fitted but if I was to tuck them into a skirt or high-rise jeans, I don’t mind too much!

15910330_943517095785520_915666273_n

The final item from New Look was another top (there’s a theme here!) which is, again, grey but with a black, lacy bardot detailing at the shoulders. This is a bit big for me and is much more of a jumper than a top but I do think this will mean I wear it much more for daytime. This is quite long, but I’m sure it can look amazing tucked into jeans and I’ve already planned to wear it slightly dressed up. This has a grey marl effect and is super soft but the lace just adds a little bit of style to it which dresses it up slightly. I really liked this and I’m sure it will be a timeless piece!

15910054_943516925785537_886768475_n

I then went onto Boohoo where a bit more money was spent! The first thing I bought (because I did need them, honestly!) was this pair of ribbed black leggings. You can’t really see the ribbed effect in the picture but they are just your average full-length leggings. These cost £6 and weren’t actually in the sale because I genuinely did need a new pair of leggings! I also bought the top in this picture which has a chequered red/black/white print. I thought it was just a nice little top I could wear for summer either with jeans/leggings or tucked into a skirt as it’s basically a cropped cami! It also includes a little bit of black (i.e. comfort zone) but introduces some colour, which I’ve been told I need! This is quite floaty and just hangs from the boobs but it is things like this that I live in during the summer! And for only £2, I couldn’t turn it down!

15942232_943516889118874_924714822_n

I then went ahead and purchased this gorgeous burgundy jumper. I don’t know if you can see it in the picture but it has slits in the sleeves, which is kind of a ‘cold shoulder’ effect, as the website told me! I really do like this and it is a thick-knitted material which I really like day-to-day though, again, I could quite easily dress it up (there’s another theme here!). I actually wore this to a college interview the other day because I do think it makes me look like a young sophisticated woman, when in actual fact the highlight of my life is getting a Chinese takeaway! It does have some black, woven inserts which, of course, I love and yeah, another staple piece that I think I will be getting my wear out of! This was only £8 and is quite short-cut, so is perfect for tiny little Rach!

15942092_943516932452203_860391753_n

The final two things I bought from Boohoo were playsuits that I literally want to die in, they are so beautiful! The first one is this black and grey chequered piece which would be perfect for January/February when you don’t know what to wear, but you know you want it to be nice! This is long-sleeved but still quite thin and finishes about mid-thigh on me. This is a bit out of my comfort zone before I’ve fully toned up again, but I think with my black vans and a pair of tights, it could look amazing for a meal out without looking too dressy. Like the very first top from New Look, this has a very low V-cut neckline and a slight off-the-shoulder type effect, though that might just be because I’m too small for it, and has a wrap-over thing which I think is very flattering should you want to present the assets in a much more sophisticated way than ‘here’s my tit’! It’s a super soft but stretchy material and, once I start toning up again, I’m super excited to get myself in this for an evening out! This was only £6.

15909744_943516942452202_1887759062_n

The other playsuit I bought is much more suited to festivals and Spring/Summer, which I am hoping on doing this year (festivals that is, I think Spring/Summer goes without saying!). This is a rusty, peach-y toned playsuit with some black lace detailing at the neckline. This is a bit more difficult to get into because of the cold shoulder effect, but once it’s on it does look stunning! It has spaghetti straps at the shoulders and then much baggier sleeves going down to around the elbow which then cinch in. This is, again, mid-thigh but if I was to wear this for the warmer weather, I don’t mind that too much. I think this would be a bit too heavy for a holiday abroad (though for the evening it may be better) or August when it’s really hot but early Summer, I can see myself living in this. It is much less booby than the other playsuit, but it still allows a little cleavage to be shown. This cinches in at the waist much more noticeably, so I will need to lose a little bit more weight in order to feel 100% comfortable in it, but I am just so excited to wear this out! This retailed for £6, as well.

I then decided with some left over money that I wanted to buy myself a new bag specifically for when I start college in September. I figured now would be the best time as the sales are on and I actually have money so better earlier than later! Something that surprised me was I found this bag in Dorothy Perkins, literally the last place I looked! This is a really simple bag with a suede-effect flap over the rest of the bag which is magnetically shut. It doesn’t have a zip but it just means I would have to keep my phone in my pocket, which I do now so doesn’t bother me too much. It is, of course, black, so will go with everything and I love the difference of the materials used as it makes it look a little bit more alive! It has a long shoulder strap so I can just grab it and go, and is big enough to fit A4 files and papers in. It has a little bit of gold detailing at the magnet and where the straps join the bag, which, again, makes it seem a little bit more alive and less flat or 2D! This was in the sale for only £17 and they had another one but with a brown/fawn coloured suede flap instead of black, but I thought black would be much more practical!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing hauls and I’m so happy I’ve finally been able to write one after what feels like forever! Let me know what you bought in these Boxing Day Sales if anything or what you thought of things I purchased for myself!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

