EOTD: Boxing Day 2016

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you a really simply eye makeup look I created for Boxing Day, which I spent with my Dad this year. This is also a little bit of a first impressions because I did try out a new eye shadow I had received for Christmas and was pretty impressed with it. I will let you know about that later, though! This is probably going to appear really simple but this is perfect for beginners and felt I should document it for future reference for myself, if no one else!

Anyway, here is the look in question:

You can’t really see but the main shimmery eye shadow I used I initially thought would be pink, but was instead a frosted purple, which is still beautiful but it just wasn’t what I was expecting. Hence why this looks a bit last-minute and unplanned – because it is! Nonetheless, I will now share with you how I created it!

The first thing I did was took the Splurge Cream Eye Shadow pot from Younique (which is similar to Avon in that it’s a catalogue brand you can’t buy in any shops) in the shade Dainty. As this is a cream I decided to not use a primer or anything as I find they work better straight onto the skin. First thing I noticed was how little you needed; I used a bit too much on my finger to apply it so shared it between both lids. This is a pale, sugarplum kind of colour with silver shimmers in it that looks amazing with pale skin (already has won me over!). However, it is so shimmery and the glitter really did get everywhere! A lot of wiping was done to try and control it, so only use a little bit! I will probably write a review on this at some point during the month or early February so keep your eyes peeled for that!

Because I was so thrown off, I then turned to what I would usually go for and created a subtle gradient in my crease! The first shade I used was The Mail from the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (available from Boots and Superdrug) which I blended out really far up to make it look a little bit more smokey and seamless. I then used Buck from the Urban Decay Naked Palette (available from Feel Unique) which is literally a tone or two darker than The Mail so blended perfectly. They are both orange-toned browns which really compliments my blue eyes. The only difference I made was by applying this directly in my crease and only blended it out when I finished with a clean fluffy blending brush. Of course, I then had to finish off with a little bit of winged liner and decided for this look to wear a little bit of red lipgloss, though I think a pink lipstick/gloss could also look amazing with it!

And there we have it! Very quick, very simple, and no room for mistake! This is literally the routine of makeup I do for everyday when I go to school because it’s neutral (depending on the colours used) and there is no way to mess it up! This, as I said earlier, is ideal for beginners or those who just want something really easy to ‘chuck on’. Let me know what you thought of this blog post and I really hope you enjoyed it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

