Best Beauty/Skincare of 2016

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Long time, no see! Well, now that Christmas is over and we are all still *slightly* recovering from New Year, I thought I would share with you my favourite beauty/skincare bits throughout the year of 2016. Just as a little heads up, the next few blog posts will revolve around last year so if that’s not your thing, stick around because I still have some new content I am so excited to share with you in a week or so! Each year, I try to find new products or new techniques of doing things and I think 2016 was quite successful on that front, and this meant I was allowed to learn and develop as a budding makeup artist. Anyway, without any further ado, let’s get onto the actual blog post!

15822263_940074172796479_1962253806_n

The first thing I’ve been loving has been cream concealers. I’m someone who doesn’t like to stray too far from their usual foundation/skin routine in fear of walking out of my house the exact shade of clementine I did not want to be. However, I have found a cream concealer which works wonders with my foundation, problem areas and skin tone! The particular one that has caught my eye has been the Rimmel Hide The Blemish Concealer in Ivory, available from Boots and Superdrug. I just find them so easy to blend and they can be used for literally anything, anywhere on the face! A lot of brands are now producing these and they come in such a wide range of shades there is almost definitely one for highlighting, contouring or just general concealing. I also find these much more skin-like as they can appear slightly dewy and they don’t appear as harsh on the skin as liquid concealers can sometimes do.

15782526_940074436129786_1457640361_n

The second thing has been gel eyeliner. Before this, I used a black eye shadow to draw on my eyeliner but investing in one of these has been a life saver! I wear eyeliner every single day so I wouldn’t mind buying one of these knowing I will get my full worth out of it, as they can dry up pretty quickly. The one I use is the Rimmel Scandaleyes Gel Eyeliner in Black, also available from Boots and Superdrug. I find gel liners so much easier to use than liquid eyeliners (which I had my first experience with last night; it wasn’t as horrific as I anticipated) and they last all day on any formula of eye shadow, as well as being pigmented af! This one has become quite clumpy but I have been using it non-stop since August, so I don’t think I can complain too much. I’m looking at the Bobbi Brown one when I run out of this Rimmel one as I do think, despite the expense, I would get my full worth out of it – if you have tried it, please let me know what you think of it!

The next thing I have been loving has been the array of Sleek highlighters there are. Before this year, I wasn’t too fussed with highlighters; it looked nice but it wasn’t something I would always look forward to applying. Since becoming addicted to drag queens, however, it has been vital to my existence on earth! After watching a few of my all-time favourite YouTuber’s rave about the Sleek Solstice palette, I knew I had to have it for myself! Their palette’s are so affordable yet pigmented and the variety of colours actually entices me instead of scares me, which is a surprise to all of us! They are so shimmery and definitely not for the faint-hearted, but by the time I’ve walked down the high street everyone is blinded so there’s no one left to complain! This palette was only £10 which is £2.50 per highlighter you receive in it, which I find amazing for such a high quality product! I am so in love with them and have been perfect for this party season. This palette is available from Boots and Superdrug, as well.

In the Summer I very happily discovered Bomb Cosmetic’s soaps. I’d previously tried their bath bombs and wasn’t overly impressed but their soaps have created a completely different response from me! I received them as a gift from my Dad and Aunt when they went on holiday together and I have been so happy with the little selection they bought me! I don’t know their names but they bought me three and I’m on my final one so I’ve had a fair range to try! They smell so nice and do leave a subtle scent on the skin as well as being fairly affordable in comparison to other bath/body brands, such as Lush. It lathers really nicely and doesn’t dry out the skin, which some bar soaps can do. When I use these, I don’t feel as if I then have to moisturise because my skin feels so nice and hydrated! I know it sounds really sad including a bar of soap in a Favourites but I do genuinely love them and highly recommend them to anyone who wants a change from the usual bar soaps! I think nearly all, or at least most, of their products are vegan so all good things happening here!

15841259_940073599463203_139628909_n

Another brand I have been obsessing over this year has been Simple, in particular their moisturisers. Simple is a well-known brand to me and others in my age group so this would be the obvious skincare brand to head towards; it’s affordable, good quality and keeps my skin looking as it should (maybe even slows down ageing??). I also have a fair few existential thoughts on a daily basis so anything that will noticeably slow down my physical ageing is a good shout for me! I own two of their moisturisers, one to use in the morning before doing my makeup and one I apply at night which is a bit thicker to keep me hydrated. This has successfully helped combat my dry skin but hasn’t made my skin overly oily. If you are of a similar age to me (14-18) I highly recommend these moisturisers because it’s an easy way to start introducing skincare into your daily routine which you will thank yourself for in the future!

Onto a bit more beauty, I have been loving copper eye shadows this year. If you have been reading my blog for a while now, this will come as no surprise to you by now! I have blue eyes so the orange undertones in copper/bronze eye shadows really bring that out and I actually quite like my eyes, so I’m going to accentuate them a little bit more if possible! All the copper eye shadows I own are shimmery, as well, which is always a bonus! I think they’re quite on trend right now as well and can be used to dress up a look or a day-to-day wash of colour. I have got a couple of EOTD’s I will be uploading this month/next month that include copper so stay tuned for them!

My penultimate beauty trend has to be bold eyebrows. I like to take inspiration from a variety of people when it comes to my individual style so people such as Tanya Burr, Audrey Hepburn and Marilyn Monroe have really inspired me with this one. Also, I don’t have the time, patience or products to do the whole gradient thing you see on Instagram! I do apply less product at the front of my brows but other than that I’m not too specific. I feel like making them quite bold and fairly sharp helps frame my naturally round face and making them quite thick looks much more natural. I just love how it dresses the face a little bit more than little lines which are supposedly ‘eyebrows’.

15822189_940073982796498_1722338123_n-1

My final beauty trend has to be powder contour products. I like to use the Maybelline Master Sculpt in Light/Medium for this, available from Boots and Superdrug. I love using these as you really do have full control on how much you apply, how blended it becomes and the drama it creates! If you apply this onto a section of your skin that has previously been set with powder, it is going to be so much easier to blend and so look much more neutral. I also use this to bronze around my forehead and I do genuinely love it as I don’t look too stone-baked but I look sufficiently more tanned! And if it becomes too harsh, I just use my usual setting powder to tame it a little bit more!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – it feels so good to be back typing and being completely anti-sociable once again! Let me know what you’re Best Of 2016 products have been or what you think of the little selection I have spoken to you about! I hope you have all had an amazing Christmas and New Year!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

