Navy Smokey Eye Makeup Tutorial | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I would like to share a makeup tutorial with you on a navy smokey eye which I had so much fun creating for you! Navy/blue eye makeup is very on trend this season and, when worn fairly subtly and with other complimentary colours, I think it can look amazing! I would personally wear this on a night out because it isn’t too ‘in-your-face’ blue, which I think we all have a low-key fear of, and it includes a little bit of shimmer. This was inspired by one eye shadow in particular which I will point out to you later. I think blue eye shadows/makeup can look amazing with brown eyes, so if you have brown/hazel-y eyes, this is one for you!

The first thing I’m going to do, as per usual, is apply a primer and set it with some translucent powder. The primer will just make the colours pop a little bit more and also enhance the longevity of it, and the powder will help blending later on, something which I find super important with a smokey eye! I then went in with my first colour which is Buck from the Urban Decay Naked Palette (available from Feel Unique) and applied this in my crease. This has some slight orange undertones so would compliment the blue perfectly and is just a staple transition/crease shade for me!

I then headed over to my Makeup Revolution Palette in Ultra Flawless Mattes (available from Superdrug) and took the shades Mud and Leather (second row down, the third one in and the second one in, respectively). I also took these through my crease but more concentrated-ly (good English there!) whereas I’d really blown Buck out to make it look super smokey. I just did this to darken it a bit and so add some more definition. I then took Earth (the one on the bottom row) from the same palette and put this in the outer third of my crease just to create a kind of gradient that I think is 100% necessary for a smokey eye, not matter how much extra time it may take!

15644938_934752859995277_1355591152_n

From the same palette, again, I took the shade Charcoal (second row up, far right) and applied this on the outer quarter of my eye and blended it forward so it looked as if it covered the outer third. I personally like this in a smokey eye as it allows me to overlap my main eye shadow and so make it all look seamless and as one *cue Spice Girls*. This is a matte dark blue that I knew would build a little bit more definition on my lid and so make the lighter colours also stand out. And you have to have a little bit of darkness really, don’t you?

15673430_934752879995275_716057550_n

My penultimate shade from the Makeup Revolution Palette was Smoke (above Charcoal). This is a matte light blue that I placed on the inner section of my eye to brighten it some more and prepare for the gradient that was about to come! This also unintentionally matched the main lid colour so helped it all blend seamlessly. At this point you can be quite messy, and you are more able to get rid of any mistakes with this colour because it is so light.

Finally, the main star of the show which inspired this whole look! I took Gunmetal from the Naked palette and placed this on the centre of my lid. This is a gorgeous shimmery blue that really helps to brighten the eye and gives some glitter reflexes that look stunning! I then blended everything all together one last time to make it look even more flawless and ensure there were no harsh lines. I think with a little bit of eyeliner and a nude, pink lip this would look stunning for a New Year’s Eve Party!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I have loved writing this one for you guys so let me know if you would like to see more makeup tutorials in the future! Also, don’t forget to let me know what you think of this look or navy/blue smokey eyes in general and your view on the trend!

Merry Christmas Eve Eve, thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

2 thoughts on “Navy Smokey Eye Makeup Tutorial | Blogmas”

  1. Ooh I haven’t seen that Pallette in MUR… Looks nice though, it’s been ages since I’ve bought anything from them xx

    1. It’s the only palette I own from them so I do use it a lot; it just contains all those matte shades that are staple for everyday. I highly recommend it, and it’s so affordable! Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

