How To Survive Being Petite | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be talking to you about How To Survive Being Petite. I did intend to make this a bit of a chatty blog post but the more I’ve been thinking about it, the more I’ve come up with more fashion-type ideas that I could write a little bit more about. I am one of the shortest people I know at the grand height of 5’0 – I literally stopped growing at the age of 10 – so I should (hopefully) know a thing or two about staying on trend all the way down here!

Strappy Heels

This is something I actually learnt in my early years of being obsessed with Gok Wan and that is to not wear heels with the straps round the ankles if you are short and would like to elongate your legs. I don’t know the full details of why but it does shorten the visual length of your legs quite noticeably which I, personally, want to try and combat! Sometimes I do like to embrace my height but when I’m out for the evening, I would like to look a little bit taller and wearing an ankle strap will just reverse what the actual heel is doing. It also isn’t great if you’ve got quite big ankles/legs like me! All other heels, however, are perfectly fine and I highly suggest! As painful as they may be, it’s only for a few hours before you can take them off and put your slippers back on! I’m so low down I could literally get away with any height at any time of day or night, which suits me perfectly!

Long Jumpers

I’m sure this is quite an obvious one and can be worn by anyone of any height but I particularly like it for my tiny-ness! If you are short like me, you can literally buy a jumper in a large/extra large or in a men’s size and it should come down to around the mid-thigh. I love this look paired with tights and heels for a night out, particularly around this time of year with all the different Christmas jumpers! It also gives the impression of a boyfriend jumper, something which not all of us have at this time of year, but very readily prepares me for that moment, should it ever happen again! I’m literally so alone! I know you can buy specific ‘jumper dresses’ but they tend to be boosted in price due to the novelty of it so, if you can, just buy a normal jumper in a few sizes bigger and you’re good to go!

Child’s Clothes

Finally, buying clothes in children’s sections or sizes really does reduce the price! I am a massive budget buyer and so anything I can get for a little cheaper I will, hence the Primark and online shopping obsessions! Children’s clothes are so much cheaper in some shops and some of their sizes do still fit me and my Mum because we’re so small! Obviously my entire wardrobe isn’t going to be only children’s sizes but things like jumpers or plain items of clothing I will pick up because why not? If you are smaller in clothes size (say a 6 or 8) you are more likely to be able to get away with this and it is worth trying. Peacocks is quite good for this or the children’s section in New Look (I can’t remember what it’s called, I’m so sorry!).

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed reading this blog post – I love writing little fashion advice posts because fashion is my first love and I just love sharing things like this with you! These are just some of the things I’ve found relevant to my life and have tried and tested though if you have any other ideas or queries, you are more than welcome to leave them in the comments below. Also, don’t forget to let me know what you like the sound of or have tried from this little selection I have mentioned for you.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

