My Favourite Christmas Songs 2016 | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be chatting you through my current Favourite Christmas Songs of 2016. When growing up, my parents would always play those massive bumper CD’s with like 30 different Christmas songs on them and so I have always been surrounded by jingle bells and all the festive tunes we have become used to! However, as I’ve grown older I’ve been able to branch out and find my own Christmas songs which have become staples for me that must be played at least 7 times a day from November the 1st! They are also perfect for playing in the background just to lift the festive spirit slightly!

Pentatonix – Winter Wonderland

This is probably the least Christmassy song on the list but I love it nonetheless. I’m not a huge follower of the Pentatonix but as soon as I heard this song I fell in love! This is a mash-up of Winter Wonderland and Don’t Worry, Be Happy and also features Tori Kelly so contains some extreme vocals and has a little reggae/soul beat that I live for! Some mash-ups can be a bit awkward-ly done but this is so seamless and just works together so well. I love both of these songs so when they’re put together, they sound simply stunning!

Leona Lewis – One More Sleep

This second song is also less traditional but it does relate to Christmas in some way, I promise! Leona Lewis has been on my radar for like 10 years now and I’ve loved her from the X Factor days so anything she brings out has to be listened to on repeat until I love it and am bleeding the lyrics! This is a more romanticized song but I don’t mind – I can still dream! I also think people find it harder to accept new, original Christmas songs but she has done is so well with a really pop-y vibe and some flawless vocals, which we would expect from Miss Lewis. If you haven’t heard this, you need to – right now!

Kelly Clarkson – Underneath The Tree

Another new, original song by another effortlessly amazing female! This is, again, quite pop-y but does involve those jingle bells we see as a Christmas staple and her vocals literally send shivers down my spine! This is an upbeat one that you will for sure find me dancing around to in the shower! If you need a little pick-up or just want to find something that will immediately make you feel festive and cosy, this is the song for you!

The Pogues – Fairytale of New York

Finally, a complete classic! I don’t think I could go a year without this song, it is my ultimate favourite Christmas song. Although a little bit slower, it puts a little twist on what we expect from a Christmas song and so follows my ethic of ‘expect the unexpected’. I’m also a sucker for a duet! If I could find the right guy, I would love to sing this for myself because it has a little bit of Irish charm whilst still being 100% realistic but providing us with the happiness Christmas surrounds us in! If you haven’t heard this song, you must’ve been living under a rock; it is definitely worth a listen!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I have loved chatting away to you guys, as per usual! Let me know what Christmas songs you love or what you think of this little selection I’ve provided for you! I can’t believe how close we finally are to the big day, I’m so excited!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

