A-Z of Me | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would share with you the A-Z of Me, which sounds really narcissistic, but I thought it would be a fun way of sharing little anecdotes and teaching you little things about myself. If this isn’t your thing I completely understand but I saw someone else write this a few months ago and wrote it down meaning to write it pretty soon after, but now seems like the right time! I’m going to write whatever comes into my mind first so be prepared for the craziness, happiness and sadness that will come from this blog post! I also highly recommend you guys try this as well because it really is fun and gets you thinking!

Amy Winehouse

Anyone who knows me will know about my complete love for Amy Winehouse! I started listening to her in around February and I have never looked back! I guess I just enjoy her style of music (jazz/soul) and as I go through life I find a lot more of her lyrics relatable so I then enjoy them more but with a lot more sass and bitterness to it (which is obviously always a good thing!).

Boys

This could be misconstrued so let me explain: I have been raised literally predominantly by boys. I have 4 male cousins (2 older, 2 younger), a younger brother, I used to have 2 step-brothers, and 2 third cousins who are the same age as me who are also boys. I personally really liked this because I feel it has made me into the person I am now (how cheesy) and means that now I’m older and want to go out with boys (as friends and perhaps, maybe, even more) I don’t get as nervous as other girls who have only ever surrounded themselves with girls. This is literally to the point where my Mum’s worried about my lack of female relations but I really don’t mind.

Cats

I have lived my entire life surrounded by cats. When I was first born, my Mum and Dad had this rescue cat called Elsa who they had to put down when I was a few weeks old, they then had Samson who escaped, then Pebbles and Tilly (I literally went into mourning when Tilly died but with Pebbles we kind of expected it!), then it was Jasmine who had three kittens, Max, Sophie and Ruby. Max disappeared (we think it was because the rabbit kept humping him) but Sophie and Ruby had a litter of kittens each who we then had to sell and then we finally got Louis. So we are now left with those final 3. To say I’ve had a fair share of cats would be a slight understatement!

Dad

Since my parents split up, I haven’t had the best relationship with my Dad. Let’s move on…

Existential Crisis

Literally every waking moment. This has only been exacerbated by the looming exams I have and moving onto college. When Donald Trump was elected president, I was literally woken up and told so the first thing I said at 7:15 that morning was ‘what is the point in life. We’re all going to be dead in 6 months. Everything in life is insignificant’. I have no trust in this president whatsoever.

Frank Sinatra

I am currently going through a huge Frank Sinatra stage. I love his songs and I’m actually looking forward to watching Elf this year just for all the Frank Sinatra music. I can’t even think what genre of music it is. Jazz? Swing? Soul? Either way, I love it!

Great British Bake Off

I really got into this years series of the Great British Bake Off… just as it’s about to move channels and lose all it’s Mary Berry goodness! Nothing pains me more than knowing I won’t have any sarcastic Mel and Sue commentary over sweating middle-aged women anymore.

History

I have always had a really geek-y obsession with History and I love it so much. I can remember at the age of 6 learning about Barnardos and the origins of it in Victorian London and being the only one in my class who actually enjoyed it. And I wondered why no one liked me!

Imagination

I’ve always had a huge imagination and I hope to put this to some use in a creative career of some sort one day. I’ve always had some kind of project that I’ve enjoyed fueling my imagination into and I guess this is how this blog has evolved.

Jacob

This was the name I would’ve had if I was born a boy and, as it happens, is the name of my Mum’s new girlfriends son. What a crazy world we live in!

Kardashians

About 18 months ago, I became completely addicted to Keeping Up With The Kardashians and, even though I don’t watch it anymore, I still stay up to date with them and track their every move. Obviously that last point I was joking…

London

For as long as I can remember, I have loved going to London on day trips because I live like two and a half hours away, so when we went it was always a special treat. My aunt also lives in South London and I love seeing her whenever I can. Fun fact, I was born just outside of London, as well. It’s basically the best!

Menopause

I’m literally already having nightmares about the menopause but I’m only 15 years old! Can you tell I couldn’t think of anything else for ‘M’?!

Nemo

I hate Finding Nemo and Finding Dory with a passion. It’s only because I have the biggest fear of the sea (I love Dory as a character!) and no one really appreciates how realistic Pixar designs it’s sea other than me. I literally can’t watch it just for the graphics. Well done but, no.

Orange

Officially the best colour ever! There is nothing I own that isn’t orange – it’s a slight obsession that’s become insanely destructive on my life!

Paris

This summer I was supposed to go to Paris for a few days but it turns out my Granny was actually developing a cancer tumor and was struggling to walk to the end of her garden let alone around France, so I ended up not going. My Granddad always promised that we would go once she was better but in October he actually passed away so when I do, hopefully, end up going to Paris, I think it will be a very emotional experience.

Quails

Earlier this year, I was lucky enough to watch a baby quail being born (or hatch from it’s egg) in the comfort of my own home irl. I loved that little quail so much but I never saw him again. Sad times. His name was Bobby and he was just the cutest.

Rachel

For those of you who don’t know, my name is Rachel and I run the blog Chummy R! When I was younger I actually hated my name because I used to hate standing out and there was no one else in my year with the same name as me. I quite like it now though, being different doesn’t bother me so much, ecspecially as I’m in a school double the size now.

Spongebob

I think I was the only child ever who didn’t like and so didn’t watch Spongebob. I don’t know why, but I genuinely got weird vibes from Patrick. He just freaked me out and I don’t know why. Sorry for offending everyone!

Three Men and a Baby

This film literally raised me and it was my first favourite film ever! I think it explains a lot but if you haven’t seen it and love a comedy, this is the one for you! It is from the 1980’s but I still absolutely adore it!

U + Ur Hand by Pink

This was a song released when I was a lot, lot younger and now that I understand the full meaning, I am completely in love with it! I guess I find it more applicable now, as a lot of girls my age would, but I love really sassy, shady songs and so this ticks all those boxes! If you want a bit of a giggle, check this song out!

Viennesse Whirl

When my first boyfriend split up with me and got a new girlfriend, me and my best friend decided to nickname her Vienensse Whirl because her name was something similar to that and I could never pronounce it correctly! For those that don’t know, a Viennesse Whirl is basically just a sandwich biscuit with cream in the middle, but it made us giggle. Don’t forget, be the bigger person…even if it does make you giggle for a little while!

Walt Disney

I am a massive Disney addict and growing up has not and will not change that in the slightest! I really like the classic ones like Peter Pan or Cinderella but I’m not impartial to the new ones. The ones that have their own soundtrack that I can sing along to as well – love them! I also love those massive bumper CD’s of the best songs from over the years! I’m just a child in a teenager’s body, I swear!

Xylophone

One of my proudest moments from being a child was playing the xylophone in my class’ assembly at school on a Friday. If your class was the chosen one for that weeks assembly to perform a musical piece, you felt as if you had been blessed by the Gods and it was literally a fight of the fittest to get the xylophone, and one time I did. And it is no lie that a lot of shade was thrown my way! It was a huge responsibility!

YouTube

I am a huge YouTube obsessive! I love nothing more than watching half an hour long vlogs or makeup tutorials or hauls or just anything really. If there is click bait, you can be guaranteed I’m going to watch it!

Zany Zebras

In the summer, there was this Zany Zebra hunt in the city where my friend lives and we were going to go do it but we never got round to it which I was genuinely disappointed about! It was basically the art students at the university creating different designs on these model zebras for a local zoo to help raise money for it or something like that. Some of the designs were actually really cool and I really wish I’d gone to look for them!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – although it took some time, I’ve really enjoyed writing it! Let me know what your personal A-Z would be or what things I’ve mentioned you would like to discuss – I’d love to chat with you guys!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

