My Favourite Makeup Looks With a Red Lip | Blogmas

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I thought I would share with you some of my favourite makeup looks that I like to wear with a red lip. At this time of year, I’m living in a red lip throughout the good, the bad, and the ugly so I also need to have some variety on my eyes or I will just get bored of doing the same thing over and over! In saying that, I do love to keep it fairly traditional and keep most of the attention on my lips, but I still have a choice which I do need (despite being so indecisive!). This basically means everything else on my face is relatively low-key (i.e. white highlighter instead of purple!). All of these are super quick and simple in order to give you the most amount of time on your lips – it is the most difficult part after all!

The first look is probably the most neutral of them all and is perfect for beginners as there is no possible chance of error. For this I take my Urban Decay Naked Palette and take Buck on a small, dense blending brush and pop it into my crease. From the same palette, I take Half Baked on a medium-sized, flat-headed eye shadow brush and apply it all over the lid. If need be, I will re-apply a little bit of Buck and blend out the edges to make it look even more contoured and seamless, but that is down to personal preference. This is possibly the safest out of the three I’m going to show you because you can be assured it will match a red lip (or any lip for that matter!) and you can do whatever you want on the rest of the face. I do also apply a primer underneath this look.

The second look is the darkest of the three but it’s still so easy and can look stunning. I take a little bit of the Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze (available from Boots and Superdrug) on my index finger and place it all over my lid. This doesn’t have to be perfectly applied at this stage but it does need to be on the lid itself. You can also blend out the edges at this stage if you would prefer to do it now rather than at the end. I then go into my Collection Little Mix All About The Eyes Palette and take the shade Dazzling Brown on a small, flat-headed eye shadow brush and apply this on the outer third of my eye. This is a really dark brown so do this at your own discretion; you don’t even need to apply this shade if you don’t want to as On and On Bronze does look just as gorgeous on it’s own. I then blend the two together and it’s all done! I would say this is more appropriate for evening wear but it is down to you; I have worn this out and about before and it’s been absolutely fine. As the first eye shadow is cream, I don’t need to apply a primer so it saves time there, as well.

The final eye makeup look that I love is the most simplest of the bunch but is still not as neutral as the first one. Literally, all I do for this one is take my Sleek -Divine palette in Oh So Special (available from Boots and Superdrug) and apply the shade Gift Basket with my finger all over my lid. I will also blend out the edges if need be to make it even more seamless. This is a gorgeous coppery-brown shade so really compliments blue eyes. I just apply this with my finger as it appears more pigmented this way and I will, again, have to use a primer with this. It is also a little bit more ‘out there’ but does still match a red lip perfectly.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I’ve loved writing it so let me know if you would like to see more of these! Also, don’t forget to let me know what eye makeup looks you like to pair with a red lip or which looks you will now be trying from my little selection!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

