My Fear of Layering | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I would like to write a chatty little blog post of My Fear of Layering. This sounds like an odd one, but I will explain and hopefully I won’t be the only person with this fear and I will find like-minded people who also thinks about these kinds of things in way too much detail! Anyway, let me please explain to you about My Fear of Layering.

As it has become significantly colder over the past few months, I have noticed that a very popular trend appears to be layering clothes. This could be in the practical sense of willful Mother’s trying to shove 3 jumpers over their toddlers heads while they’re kicking and screaming or those oh-so popular Tumblr girls who layer a shirt under a jumper and then wear a really trendy (usually khaki) but ridiculously thin coat over the top of it. In both senses, I am not a fan. It is only in November/December/January my true introverted self fully appears and I will not leave the house without 4 layers on (beanie included) – but this is also when the fear arises!

As the first born in my family, I was basically the ‘tester’ child. I received all the vaccines, I was given strict bedtimes and, most notably, I was forced into layer after layer during these colder months until I left the house with my arms entirely horizontal to the rest of my body due to all the clothes I was currently wearing. This was not helped by the ‘puppy fat’ I lived in until the age of about 13. I have the most vivid memories of my Dad struggling to pull my zip on my coat up without it popping open over all my layers (yes, it became a ‘Dad job’!). I do still like the ‘practical-layer-up’ because I get cold so easily, but I do this much more subtly now: top, jumper, coat, fluffy socks, fluffy boots, beanie. This does still mean I’m freezing cold but it does mean I have the ability to walk, which is always necessary!

Then there’s the other sense. I’m not a Tumblr blogger and it’s safe to say I will never reach that form of antisocial hierarchy in my life, but we can all dream can’t we! On some girls, the collared-shirt-jumper-ridiculously-thin-coat-trend can look amazing and I really like the effect it has, just not on me. I just feel it would be quite suffocating and on my *slightly larger* body it would just look wrong. I feel I would look like one of those people who try to fit in but, at every opportunity, fails to do so. I think, with my body shape and natural allure (oh yeah!), collared-shirt-jumper-trend would do me no favours whatsoever. I would also forget to keep my head raised for the entire day so my skull would just melt into the collar where my neck should be! This is the same for roll-neck jumpers. What is the point of buying a jumper with this feature when I can create my own neck-rolls very easily and much more inexpensively?! It’s also unique to me and my DNA (bringing out my Biology GCSE there, going to use that at every opportunity!)!

So in this colder season I will not be layering up. Instead, I will sit back in a chunky knit cardie, my array of black jumpers and my candles burning at any given opportunity, watching episode after episode of American Horror Story! Perfect!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – something a little bit different but I really like just chilling and chatting and I have a lot to talk about (can you tell??) so let me know if you would like to see more of these. Also, don’t forget to let me know what you think of this issue; are you a little bit bigger and have the steel-like courage to wear this? If so, please tell me how!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

