Las Vegas Inspired Day To Night | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would write a Day To Night blog post for you, seeing as I haven’t done one in the longest time! In this blog post, I will just be telling you about a makeup look I wore this weekend just gone during my *very* busy Saturday and how I preserved my makeup during the day/night or what changes I made as well as any other tips I used along the way.

Something that really inspired me for this was Las Vegas as it is one of those places that never sleeps and from morning till midnight, you are going! I’ve also been searching online for potential holidays next year and have found my dream hotel – The Paris Hotel! As some readers will know, Paris is my dream place so if I can get all the enjoyment of the most Romantic city in the world with the most exciting place in the world, it must be a win win situation! I also feel like Last Vegas must be one of those Bucket List places you have to go to at some point in your life as it is so crazy! Anyway, to read about other hotels and travel-y bits to do with Vegas, you can click HERE. Vegas.com, also, currently have a very tempting package deal available right now on a variety of different places in Vegas, so if you would like to check that out in a little bit more detail, you can click HERE.

So this is the eye makeup look I managed to wear from around 10am until 11pm at night (my skin officially hates me!):

As you can tell, it was quite dark and smokey for everyday, but I personally don’t mind that and you could very easily get away with it in Las Vegas. I did also wear eyeliner but I just happened to take the pictures before that! In order to ensure the eyes lasted all of 13 hours, I applied a primer under the eye shadows and set it with powder. For this I used the MUA Pro Base Eye Primer which I honestly live and swear by! I then applied The Mail and Boxed from the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (available from Boots and Superdrug) in the crease and outer third of my eye. For the glitter, I applied the Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in Eternal Gold (available from Boots and Superdrug) with my pinky finger straight onto the eye to get all the pigmentation I could. This eye shadow does not leave the eye whatsoever, so I knew I was safe with this one! It is nearly 100% glitter, as well, so it’s perfect for night-time or just going all-out during the day (which I definitely would in Vegas!).

As I said, I personally prefer quite dark if it’s day or night because it means it will definitely last until the night time and 9 times out of 10, I don’t have the time or willpower to begin a whole new face of makeup. I will apply things quite heavily just so it lasts to reduce the risk of having to reapply and you can always blend it away should it look a bit too mental! In terms of eyeliner, I have found that with my eye shape it can imprint into my crease or smudge a little bit as the day goes on and my lids become a bit more oily. When eyeliner transfers, I literally just blend it in with the rest of my eye makeup as it looks much more dark and smokey (which I like for the evening!) and means there isn’t a really harsh, black line in my crease! I know some people may think differently but I personally see it as the quickest, most resourceful solution. Eyeliner is very Paris, as well! Also, re-applying it always possible no matter how reluctant I am to do it! I tend not to need to, but I will reapply some concealer if need be. I don’t like to do this because I feel it clogs the skin and pores even more, and will initially begin with powder, but if it doesn’t work then I will have to.

In terms of simple ‘touching up’, I will only really blend out any eye shadows that have clumped together in my crease (which the Sleek ones tend not to, hence why I chose to use them on that day!) and apply powder to any oily areas, such as my nose or forehead. I will also add to any bronzing or contouring that needs a little bit of ‘oomph’. Applying a primer to the whole of your face may also help the longevity of your foundation/concealer, but some foundations don’t really need it. As well as this, I will apply some more lipstick/gloss if need be, though for this occasion I decided to change the colours between day to night.

I actually did this the other way round on Saturday because the day I spent with my Granny for her birthday and in the evening I went to one of my friends parties (very different events!) so they required different things! Anyway, what I would suggest for the day (or evening) is to wear the Rimmel Kate Moss Lipstick in 08, available from Boots and Superdrug. This is a rose-y, muted nude that looks gorgeous just with any old makeup look and doesn’t dry out the lips, so can be reapplied as many times as you want. I wore this in the evening because I was eating and drinking much more, and more pictures were being taken so I didn’t want a colour that would noticeably come off (like the red). If this does come off, it didn’t do so that badly as it’s quite similar to my natural lip colour. The red lipstick I wore was Mac’s Matte Lipstick in Diva, which I adore! This is also very Parisian and, as it’s matte, stays on for an eternity! I could’ve quite easily worn this for the entire 13 hours, if I’m going to be honest. Both of these styles are perfect for a day/night out in Las Vegas, if you ask me!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I should write these more, I actually really enjoyed it! Let me know what sort of day to night tips you live by or whether these have helped you in anyway!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

 

2 thoughts on “Las Vegas Inspired Day To Night | Blogmas”

Leave a Reply

