Why I Feel Comfortable With Instagram | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would write another slightly personal blog post about Why I Feel Comfortable With Instagram. I know I’ve spoken about social media before (click HERE for that blog post) but I wanted to speak specifically about Instagram and my personal usage and experiences of it.

I know a lot of you are possibly questioning why out of all the different social media platforms I am most comfortable with Instagram, considering it is all about pictures and likes and being the best of the best. I joined Instagram at the beginning of the year just as a way to track certain things in my life and being able to boost my confidence in terms of taking pictures of myself. Just as a little bit of context, I had been depressed like a month prior to this and was in recovery so I was doing anything to boost my mood and confidence! I decided I wanted to do it to document certain aspects of my life and to also look at all the pretty makeup pictures I had previously hidden from! I have, so far, kept my profile private and only accepted followers if I knew them and genuinely felt comfortable with them viewing some potentially personal stuff about me.

At this current moment in time, I have 38 followers on Instagram – my 13 year old brother has more than that! I know it doesn’t sound like much but the people I have accepted I feel I can trust and won’t then go behind my back or anything (if you can’t tell, I have major trust issues!). If you have low self-esteem or low confidence, I highly recommend this because it did make it so much easier to get into and I felt much less pressurized to do or be a certain way. If some people ask to follow you and you don’t want them to, they won’t then get a notification saying ‘Oh, this person has rejected you, what a terrible human’, so there won’t be any backlash from it. It’s also much less of a headache!

I also have the BETA version of the app because of the type of phone I have (Nokia Lumia) and this means I have everything that people on an iPhone or any other type of phone would have, but not the messenger it has. It’s frustrating because if people message me I don’t know about it, but there are also some people out there who I don’t want to message me and so it helps with not having to see that. Obviously this wasn’t much of a choice, but if you want to speak to someone directly, you always have Facebook or Twitter to do that on so it’s not too much of a loss.

I know social media wasn’t created for this but it has certainly morphed into it: becoming popular and the most desirable out of everyone else. I’m personally someone who refuses to do that and have always been slightly different. Without sounding really arrogant, I quite like this quality in myself and hope it’s something that stays strong with me for the rest of my life. So I may not be the most sociable or confident person but I never have been and never will be, and that’s okay. I think whilst growing up I’ve had to learn to accept a lot about myself, which has been difficult but also amazing in some areas. Sorry for going off on that tangent but I thought it was important to note! Basically, don’t feel you have to be a certain way and it’s absolutely fine to be slightly different from everyone else and keeping your friendship group small and how you would like it to be.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I have a really exciting blog post for you tomorrow that I can’t wait for you to see! Let me know what your opinions on this topic are or if you have been/are in a similar situation to me! I love chatting to you guys in the comments!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

