Sleek Solstice Highlighter Palette Review | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I would like to review for you the Sleek Solstice Highlighter Palette, which everyone and their Mother’s have been raving about recently! I bought this way back in August and I think (finally!) I am fully prepared and ready to talk it through with you! I’m sure you’ve seen everyone else’s reviews but this is simply my interpretation of it and, spoilers, it is worth all those great reviews! I have mentioned this in a few previous blog posts but this will just be a little bit more of a further insight to it.

wp_20161205_15_33_50_pro

Firstly, I would like to talk to you about the packaging. Everyone who has seen this palette knows about the statement gold, mirrored effect it has with ‘Sleek’ written oh-so effortlessly in white across the top, as it usually has with its palettes. This makes me feel like the queen I am (jk!) even if the actual word ‘Sleek’ is sometimes hard to read when the light’s on it. In all seriousness, I love this so much as it does look so elegantly stylish as well as diverse to the rest of the palettes I own. It literally is ‘Sleek’! On the inside, it has a mirror the full size of the lid and comes with a small highlighter brush (and by ‘small’, travel size would be a push for it!) as well as the usual piece of plastic with the shades names on (which always comes in handy for this purpose!).  It arrived in a uni-carton which is always fun to open upon receiving; it felt like an early Christmas present! I couldn’t tell you the material of the palette’s packaging for the life of me, but it feels sturdy, its very compact, easy to wipe any spillages off of and has that satisfying magnetic shut that we all need in our lives! All in all, this makes it a perfect palette for your collection as its easily recognisable and for travelling as it is so compact and something I would trust to remain closed whilst moving around.

Onto the colours! This palette contains 4 different shades of highlighter which I will briefly talk you through, starting from the top left hand corner. Ecliptic is the only cream shade within the palette and is a bronze-y shade with some rose gold undertones which look stunning on darker/tanned skin tones. Hemisphere is the most notable from the palette considering it’s purple and is one of the two stone-baked shades (I think it’s called stone-baked anyway!). This has icy undertones and is one I’m currently obsessed with at this time of year for a bit of a frostbite-y glow. The third shade is Subsolar, and the one that I think is the less exclusive and one most people would immediately go for. Despite looking slightly vanilla-y, it is a white/pale skin tone kind of colour that is perfect for a natural day-to-day glow. Equinox is the final shade and is another stone-baked colour but is, like Ecliptic, bronze-y in colour and perfect for when you have a tan. All of these shades are filled to the brim with shimmer and are all something I would wear at some point throughout the year.

wp_20161205_15_34_07_pro

Next, the product itself. I find the powder highlighters naturally more easy to apply but I’m sure as seasons change and I turn more to Ecliptic, I will find a sustainable way to wear it without disrupting the rest of my makeup. I am, at the moment, using the brush it comes with to apply it which does the job really well considering it was in the palette (not that I’m prejudice at all!) but I will also let you know how I get on when I receive a proper highlighting brush. All of these colours are so pigmented and worth the hype – you could literally apply one swipe and be ready to go with your day! I find Ecliptic, as it’s cream, much more natural (if highlighter can be natural!) on the skin whereas the others are blinding. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but it does mean that I personally don’t wear it for school because it is a bit much for half past 8 in the morning! The longevity of them is also amazing; I could apply this first thing in the morning and I would still be glowing by the evening! Furthermore, they blend out really nicely into your foundation/skin so it doesn’t look like one strip on your face and I just love them so much! It does also say they can be used as eye shadows, but when I have, they have come across really patchy and just didn’t match my usual standards for eye shadow. I also think that, although the glitter appears finely milled when used as a cheekbone highlighter, when I use it for brow bone/inner corner highlight, the glitter can appear chunky and just look wrong in that place. As I say, that is my personal opinion but it is what I have found with it.

wp_20161205_15_34_15_pro

Finally, price and availability. This retails for £9.99 in both Boots and Superdrug, meaning it’s super affordable and very much readily available. I personally think this is really affordable considering how many colours you receive within it and the quality of them but I know it is out of certain people’s price ranges. If that is the case, it is an amazing birthday/Christmas present and, honestly, it is well worth the wait and the price!

Would I recommend it to you? I’d be stupid not to! This is available worldwide, I think now, so it there for everyone and, of course, my queen Jeffree Star has been raving about this, so it has to be amazing! If you are looking for some beautiful new highlighters to add to your collection, you need to try these!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing reviews so let me know what other products you would like me to try for you! Also, don’t forget to let me know what you think of this palette if you have bought it yourself or any other queries you have about it in the comments below!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

