Winter Makeup Statements 2016 | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would talk you through what I personally think are the most beautiful and popular Winter Makeup Statements and how to complete them easily and quickly (because we all end up in a rush for those Christmas parties!). I will also be including what products I think are best for each trend. I have wanted to write this blog post for so long and I’m so excited to finally complete it for you!

Red Lips

wp_20161205_15_33_12_pro

This is probably the most obvious trend but I had to mention it! Red lips are something I’ve worn for Christmas and the days surrounding it for the past couple of years and it’s something I genuinely look forward to doing! I think most people are quite scared of red as it is so bold and could go wrong so easily, but there are some ways to gently ease yourself in. The first one I did *a lot* when I was first getting into makeup, and that was using a tinted lip balm or red lip gloss. Both of these things are pretty full-proof and I don’t think you can possibly go wrong with! The lip balm that I found most pigmented for this was the Body Shop’s Born Lippy pot in Strawberry, which you simply apply with your finger (and it nourishes your lips along the way! I have since, sadly, run out of it!) and the lip gloss I have become obsessed with is Tanya Burr’s Mistletoe Kisses (which has, unfortunately, been discontinued). Moving onto lipsticks and taking that plunge, I immediately headed for the Rimmel Kate Moss Matte Lipstick in 107 (available from Boots and Superdrug) after hearing so many raving reviews on it (all of which are totally true!). To fully complete a striking yet precise lip, I would first use a lip brush to outline my lips and then went in with the actual bullet when I was more competent. Alternatively, a lip liner can also be used. To read reviews on any of the products mentioned you can click HERE or HERE. I live in red lips at this time of year and could not live without them!

Shimmering White Highlighter

Surprisingly, I’m quite adventurous when it comes to highlighter and the different colours available so switching to a white highlighter always prepares me for this time of year! It just looks more Christmas-y and matches the red lips so effortlessly but gorgeously. Also, as I’m so pale, it actually looks as if it suits my skin tone! To evenly apply a highlighter, a fan brush is most appropriate though I do sometimes tone it down/blend it into my skin further just my dabbing the tip of my beauty blender over the edges. The highlighters I love for this are the MUA Undress Your Skin Iridescent Gold highlighter (available from Superdrug) and the shade Subsolar from the Sleek Solstice Highlighter Palette (available from Boots and Superdrug). These are so pigmented and are simply stunning with a red lip and really subtle brown eyes! To read my review on the MUA highlighter you can click HERE and you can also expect a review of the Sleek Solstice Palette soon.

Dark, Shimmery Eyes

This is a trend I’m really starting to get into and love (and will be sharing with you soon!). On discovering many new eye shadows, I have also discovered stunning new ways to wear them, in day-to-day smokey eyes or darker, night-time smokey eyes. Shimmer also has to come into play in some format! I don’t like my smokey eyes too dark because I love my eyeliner so much but I manage to accommodate to that issue! The eye shadows I particularly love is the shimmer shade Snakebite from the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette (available from Feel Unique) and the matte shades in the Makeup Revolution Ultra Flawless Mattes Palette (available from Superdrug). Honestly, this latter palette alone could create a stunning matte, smokey eye.

Light Blush

wp_20161205_15_35_25_pro

I don’t like a lot of blush at the best of times due to my naturally red cheeks but a little light blush never hurt anyone! I tend to go for pale pink shades as it looks like naturally flushed skin and doesn’t conflict with any kind of red lip (if applied lightly enough). If I’m also having a day without highlighter (i.e. the days that aren’t worth waking up for!), I like going for a shimmery one as it stills brings a little bit of light to my face. This is very dependent on skin tone but as a pale person, this is what I prefer!

Dewy Skin

I love dewy skin all year round, but particularly with the trends previously mentioned at this time of year! I feel like with the onset of matte lips, dewy skin has to be done so that you don’t look too flat. I also feel it makes highlighter and shimmery blush’s pop even more! If I am having a day where I don’t really want to go dewy, I can literally just matte it with powder so it’s not a huge hassle. The foundation I love for this is the Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation (available from Boots and Superdrug), as it literally does make you look more awake! I just prefer dewy skin, though I know this is also kind of dependent on skin types. To read my review on this foundation, you can click HERE.

Thick, Black Eyeliner

wp_20161205_15_35_38_pro

Finally, it had to be done! I wear eyeliner every single day all year round, but there is something about it that just seems fitting for winter/Christmas time! With a red lip and some neutral-ish eyes, it just seems to complete the look! At this time of year, I do prefer it much more 1960’s-style, or like how Adele has it on her ’25’ album cover (the wing drags down onto her lash line, making it much thicker than it normally would). The eyeliner I use for everyday is the Rimmel Scandaleyes Gel Eyeliner in Black (available from Boots and Superdrug). I am biased but if you have mastered it, this is the time to show it off! To read my review on this eyeliner, you can click HERE.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I have loved talking you through each of these beloved trends! Let me know what trends you love for this time of year or what you like from this small selection I have given you! I know everyone’s different and I love trying new things so tell me what other tips and tricks I can try!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

P.S. Sorry this blog post is so late!

Leave a Reply

