My Favourite Christmas Films 2016 | Blogmas

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I thought I would chat you through my all-time favourite Christmas films as well as other films I just really enjoy watching at this time of year. I know I’ve done this before but I thought I would mix things up by showing you other random films I also love in this colder season. I love all things Christmas so most of these will come as no surprise to most of you, but hopefully you’ll now be in the mood to watch them all over again!

Elf

I have been so in love with this film for as long as I can remember! I had this on video tape, that’s how long I’ve been watching this film for! I think everyone knows this story by now, but if you don’t it follows the tale of Buddy the Elf (Will Ferrell) who finds out he actually isn’t an elf and is adopted so goes to New York to find his birth father but, of course, being Will Ferrell, there are a lot of funny mishaps along the way. I love everything about this film: the comedy, the small amount of romance that comes into play, the New York scenes and, most importantly, the Frank Sinatra music! This is a much-loved comedy fit for all the family!

Love Actually

This is one I came into contact with only a year and a half ago but am so obsessed with it already – I started watching it last month! The story of this is a little bit more complicated but it’s about a group of people who are all connected in some way and how love affects their lives. My main obsession is because of Hugh Grant but, yanno, everyone else is great too! This is, again, a comedy but also deals with some more serious issues that surround love. I think this is rated a 12 or 15, which I do agree with so this is for a *more mature* audience! Nonetheless, it will get you in the Christmas spirit with some giggles along the way!

Home Alone

Again, a complete classic that I grew up with! This must be the most profound and infamous Christmas film around but I know there are probably still some that don’t know what all the fuss is about! This is the story of a misbehaved child, Kevin, who is accidentally left behind when his family go on holiday for Christmas and it tracks what he does and how his family try to get back to him before Christmas. This is another comedy (what a surprise!) and is very much suited to the family and a younger audience! Nonetheless, as a teenager I still repeat the script word-for-word as Macaulay Culkin does!

The Harry Potter Series

This will come as no surprise to long term readers, but I am absolutely obsessed with the Harry Potter films! Daniel Radcliffe literally raised me as the first film came out the year I was born and they came out each year after that. I think we would be here forever if I were to explain each of the films to you, but it has magic, comedy, fantasy and some romance in there! I still need to get my hands on the books – I can’t believe I’ve gone this long without reading them! I just feel as if the Harry Potter films are perfect movie night films with your duvet on the sofa and a hot chocolate by your side with the Christmas candles lit! Much love for these films!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – don’t forget to let me know what films you love around this time of year or what traditional Christmas ones you love cosy-ing up to! Also, let me know what you think of my picks or whether I’ve now convinced you to have a massive movie marathon!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you tomorrow,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

