Urban Decay VS. Maybelline: Easy Everyday Eye Makeup Look

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would write another VS. blog post for you – I feel like I haven’t written one in ages! However, I thought I would write it slightly different to my other ones and instead of comparing two products, I thought I would compare the same makeup look but with different eye shadows. This is also similar to a dupe blog post (which I haven’t written one of yet – let me know if you would like that) because I’m comparing a high-end brand and a drugstore brand but I’m going to make my own conclusion on which one I prefer and I encourage you guys too, as well. Just a little disclaimer, I don’t know if my Naked palette (Urban Decay) is real or not but this is going by the version I own so sorry if it’s slightly different to yours.

The first thing I’m going to do is briefly explain what I applied where (thought it’s pretty much the same for each one!). For the Maybelline eye, I took the Master Sculpt compact and applied the highlight shade all over my lid and then took the contour shade into my crease. Using the same brushes (so there’s absolutely no difference whatsoever) I took the shade Half Baked from the Naked palette and applied this all over my lid then pressed Buck into my crease. In each pan, the shades do look slightly different but they’re still really similar (or at least enough so to be a dupe of each other). I also used a primer for both of these looks so they look as similar as possible.

In this blog post, I’m just going to be comparing the products themselves as oppose to every minor detail – if you would prefer that, just let me know and I’ll bare that in mind for next time. So first of all, the different colours: Buck is a much warmer-toned brown than the one in the Maybelline compact (which is slightly orange-y) and Sidecar is kind of like a blonde Labrador colour (can’t deny how professional my descriptions are!) whereas the highlighter is much more white and ice-toned. In saying this, if you were to compare this shade to a stark white, it would look much more vanilla-y. Both the highlighter and Half Baked are shimmer-y, though I feel like the glitter in the highlighter is much more clumpy and Half Baked is just packed to the brim of finer particles of glitter. I have put other highlighters on my eyes as eye shadow before and it is the best one I have used yet for this factor and the fact it isn’t patchy. I also don’t mind the orange-y-ness of the contour shade because it helps bring out the blue in my eyes though no one can beat a warm-toned brown!

As I’m sure you can tell, Buck blended out quite a fair bit better than the contour shade (I’m really sorry but they don’t have specific names in case you hadn’t already noticed!) and so looked much more blown out, which is something I personally prefer with my eye shape. I also found Buck didn’t have to be built up so much. In terms of longevity, they both survive a school day really well. I’ve worn them both for a full day and both survive as well as each other (though that is with a primer). I also quickly want to mention the price and availability of the two products. I’m almost certain you know which is high-end and which is drugstore but for those who don’t, the Urban Decay Naked Palette is the high-end alternative (available from Feel Unique) and the Maybelline Master Sculpt Compact is drugstore (available from Boots and Superdrug). The Naked Palette retails for £38.50 and the Master Sculpt retails for £6.99.

My final verdict would have to be slightly torn. I feel like using highlighters for eye shadows can be a really good thing, especially if you are on a budget like myself. I also feel like the Master Sculpt Compact is super versatile and can be suited to a lot of different skin tones and for a variety of things. I also feel like this is a great dupe for Half Baked and Buck and I kind of feel like you shouldn’t buy a palette just for a couple of colours (particularly at this price point) so really think about the other colours in Naked or just buy the Maybelline compact for the shades mentioned. Anyway, to end my ramble, if you have this compact, you now know how to use this palette on your eyes if you didn’t already and how simple and quickly it can be used! Also, if you are on a budget, you now know you can get one amazing product to complete a number of stages in your makeup routine.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I really enjoyed writing this so let me know what others you would like me to do for you! Also, let me know what your final verdict would be and what your opinions on both of the products are if you own them yourselves!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

