Best Hairstyles for Thick Hair

Good Evening Munchkins!

For those that don’t know, I naturally have thick, curly hair and so it has been my goal for the past 15 years to find hairstyles, haircuts, products or genuine magic to help tame and control it! Well, I have finally found the number one hairstyles for my type of hair and I thought I would share it with you in case you struggle with the same issue! Chances are you’ve seen this hairstyle before but I thought I would talk you through how I do it and why I like it with my hair type. This is also super quick and easy and you don’t need a thousand different hair utensils to get it perfect! It takes me a maximum of two times to get it right and it’s perfect for school/work as well.

wp_20161112_10_20_57_pro

This first hairstyle is one I’ve been doing for about a year and a half now and is one that I think was brought to my attention through the likes of Ariana Grande. This is so so easy and is done within two minutes! Both of these hairstyles are suited to any types of hair, by the way, not just thick – it’s just I know my hair looks better in this way hence why I’m recommending it! It also helps hide any greasiness if dry shampoo has decided to fail me (another trick I love!). All I do is divide my hair from just above my temples (though you can choose it depending on the state of your hair or how you like it to look), brush it through so the top bit is smooth and tie it up with a hair bobble. It is as simple as that! It is basically a tiny ponytail but with some hair down, which is also better than having all your hair up when it’s this cold, and it looks so relaxed but cool and it doesn’t even need hairspray to keep it in place! I just love dividing my hair as it makes my hair still look thick but in a way I can control (so it obviously looks so much better!) and the front of my hair is out of my face which I like when I’m working. There is nothing worse that having your hair messing around your face! Please ignore the hair that I didn’t part from the back, as well! I didn’t realise how annoying it looked until now!

wp_20161112_10_23_58_pro

The second hairstyle is basically the same thing but in a bun formation and is one I’m preferring at the moment. Once thing I can find with the ponytail is that it can droop if you don’t keep tightening it throughout the day and, as I have the front part of my hair tied back, it can make me look like I have no hair – not the look I’m going for! However, with a bun where it’s all gripped in place, your hair stays on top and won’t droop, meaning it actually looks like you have hair on your head! For this look you just do the same steps as before but twist the ponytail so it has some form of structure to it and wrap it into a bun shape on the top of your head around the hair bobble you used for the ponytail. I then take some clear elastics (though hair bobbles can be used for this, I just prefer the band to be slightly more hidden) and fix this into place. These elastics can snap really easily so I would get a fairly big bag that is suited for hair! I then pull it out a little bit or turn it slightly or whatever seems right to make it look a bit better and grip any bits down that need it (which is usually a lot!). Although this sounds like it would take longer than the ponytail, any bumps that happen on the front bit of the hair can be hidden with the bun so there’s a lesser chance of having to re-do it from the very beginning. I just think it looks a bit better and this is the one I tend to go for unless my hairs having a good day! Also, don’t forget that the bottom/mid-sections of your hair will also become greasy, not just the tops parts your using for this look, so just bare that in mind and keep the dry shampoo on hand!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I hardly ever write about hair simply because makeup is more my forte and I struggle a lot more with hair (probably due to my life of its issues!). I hope I have encouraged you to try this is if you also have troubles with thick hair and let me know if you have any other questions on how I maintain my hair or anything else you may have seen on this blog!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

