Rimmel Stay Glossy Lip Gloss Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I would like to chat you through my thoughts on the Rimmel Stay Glossy Lip Glosses, of which I’ve been a proud owner of now for nearly a year. I received this set of 5 as a stocking present last Christmas so some of these colours may not still be available but the actual quality of the product doesn’t differ too much so it shouldn’t with other colours they sell, either. Way back in February (I think, you may have to correct me!) I wrote a First Impressions on it with swatches so if you would like to check that out you can click HERE but I don’t think it was thorough enough nor did I have much experience with it by that point! Hence this new, updated blog post on them which I will now get on with for you!

As always, I’m going to begin with the packaging. These come in the usual lip gloss bottles I think you would expect to see a lip gloss packaged in but has a much curvier shape so it’s fairly easy to chuck into a makeup or travel bag. They are also made of plastic so there is no worry whatsoever about any breakage! This does hold quite a lot of product (5.5ml), which I’m very happy about, and I really like the little silver lid with a Rimmel crown embossed onto it. The lid is screw on so I know if it’s definitely closed or definitely open (I am that person!) and the applicator is a fairly large doe-foot shaped one that I find really easy to use when applying. I have quite big lips so anything that makes it quite quick and easy to apply is always a winner on my part! I think this is also plastic but with the little fur bit on (does anyone know what that’s for??). The shade of the lip gloss is written next to the barcode where the lid unscrews so it can rip when first opening it, then making the name difficult to read but that’s only a minor issue that shouldn’t effect everyone! All other important information, such as the ingredients, are listed on the bottle, also.

wp_20161109_15_34_42_pro

Onto the aesthetic of the product. Obviously I have 5 different colours here so I will briefly explain each one for those who didn’t see the earlier blog post or have forgotten where it was so long ago, going from left to right in the picture above. Candyfloss; a bright, hot pink with glitter particles within it (also has a blue undertone), My Eternity; a lilac shade with grey undertones and some shimmer, Yours Forever; a deep, burgundy shade with no shimmer, Lights/Camera/Action; a peachy orange with shimmer in it, Here To Stay; a peachy-toned nude with little shimmer. I’m not going to lie to you, I do have my favourite colours and those I don’t use very often. At the moment I am loving Yours Forever because it is so dark but Here To Stay has actually become my go-to nude. I feel like I have been given a good selection but, as I mentioned earlier, they may not still be stocking them (but I know they stock others) so you may have to hunt around elsewhere for these actual shades. All the lip glosses also contain a very sweet, vanilla-y type scent that is quite strong but it soon fades once applied.

wp_20161109_15_35_20_pro

Now the product itself! I can be a bit fussy with lip glosses but I actually really enjoy these! They don’t feel too sticky on the lips, the applicators allow you full control over how much you apply, it has the perfect amount of shine and all the colours are really pigmented! I naturally have quite red lips, so some colours don’t show up as well as others (My Eternity and Lights/Camera/Action in particular) but there is a tinge of colour in there! As I mentioned, the smell does fade which I’m not too fussed about but I know some people hate strong smelling products so I thought I’d put it in there! The glitter particles don’t always become apparent once applied but I don’t think anyone really craves that in a lip gloss (well, I don’t!). I just really enjoy these lip glosses, and even if you eat or drink, the darker colours in particular, will leave a slight stain on the lips which I also like. They don’t budge once on either, and fiddling is something I’m terrible for so this is a huge bonus for me! I also feel like these can be worn really easily over other lip products as well as on their own. As you may have noticed, some of these are labelled as Stay Glossy and others as 3D Stay Glossy but I honestly can’t tell the difference so I thought I’d just put them together for this review! Everything I’ve said does apply to both.

wp_20161109_15_35_45_pro

Finally, price and availability. As I said previously, I received these as a stocking filler so I don’t know where this set is actually from but I know that both the Stay Glossy and 3D Stay Glossy range are available from Boots. These lip glosses are also from Rimmel so they really don’t break the bank at only £6.29. If you can find the exact colours I own, well done! I can’t find them anywhere at all! This does make them fairly accessible unless you want the colours I’ve mentioned (some of which I would like to repurchase for myself!).

Would I recommend these? Of course I would! I’m a newly-found lip gloss lover and these were the turning point for me! They’re not too thick but not too thin and supply my lips with a perfect layer of colour for everyday! These haven’t got much of a reputation but I hope to change that soon!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I always love sharing a selection of my beloved products with you! Let me know what you think of these lip glosses if you own one yourself, what you would like to see more of or where I can buy these colours! It’s so frustrating when you can’t repurchase a product you love so much! I might have to start rationing it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

