Rimmel Hide The Blemish Concealer Review

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

After raving about it in my previous Favourites blog post, I thought that today I would write a little review for you on the Rimmel Hide The Blemish concealer. I’ve been using this concealer for years but it’s only recently I started using the right colour for my skin tone (everything’s a learning curve!) so I do feel I’ve learnt a little bit more about it for that reason. I think that’s all the background I need to give you so I will now get on with the review!

wp_20161102_15_39_55_pro

The first thing I would like to talk to you about is the packaging. I’m someone who loves a bit of classy, sleek packaging so I think it may surprise long-time readers that I went for a concealer that isn’t in gold casing with the title in calligraphy up the side! I will admit, this isn’t the most aesthetically pleasing packaging, but it does what it’s supposed to and makes putting it in a makeup bag super easy as it is so small. This is a stick concealer so it’s in a lipstick-type bullet (hence the shaping of the actual casing) with this nude-y coloured *click* shut lid with an black part that you screw up to get the concealer from (does that even have a name?!). I quite like the nude-y colouring of it because it easily tells you whether it’s the concealer or a bright pink lipstick your about to put under your eyes! In saying this, each concealer colour doesn’t necessarily match the colour of the packaging which, as a budding makeup artist, I would find handy in my kit. All the information is clearly presented on the lid and, as I mentioned earlier, it is one that you screw up in order to use the product. The colour is also labelled clearly on the bottom, much like a lipstick. For me, I find this shape and size really nice and travel-friendly so it does tick those boxes for me!

Onto the colour – I have never found one to match me so perfectly before so I am never letting this concealer go! Those who have been reading for a while now will know I am so pale at this time of year and I literally use the whitest foundation I can find, but this concealer still lets me highlight my under eyes and the bridge of my nose really naturally but beautifully! This particular shade (Ivory 01) is yellow toned and is the whitest thing on the colour chart before white – I am very happy about it! There are also a wide range of other colours available to suit most skin tones, though, in all fairness, I haven’t had a good snoop around in the shops recently to see what variety they now offer! But if you are whiter than white (like myself), I have found the highlighting concealer for you!

wp_20161031_15_39_41_pro

As you may have already noticed, this is a cream concealer, and it is definitely creamy! When I use this, I simply apply it straight from the bullet wherever it’s needed then use a damp beauty blender to work it into the skin. I have not had an issue with this at all so far; I use it for my under eyes, my nose, any spots that may have decided to crop up from the middle of no where and any redness on my cheeks that my foundation may not have been able to cover and it works perfectly for all of this. I’ve found this to last all day long at school, through sweat and tears (but no blood, I haven’t been bleeding from the eyes just yet!) and it doesn’t go cakey after all of this, either! It is so easy to work with and it blends so beautifully and seamlessly into my skin – I just love it so much! Granted, nothing will ever fully cover my under eye circles but it does try and cover up the majority which is good enough for me! This also doesn’t get noticeably affected by foundation underneath it (if at all), which I like a lot when I’m layering up! It also doesn’t really look like you’re wearing too much makeup – it  looks just like skin! Honestly, if you’ve always thought of yourself as a liquid-concealer-only kinda gal (or guy), this will change your mind instantly!

Finally, price and availability. With it being a Rimmel product, it is really easily accessible and can be purchased from Boots or Superdrug, online or offline, (hopefully) without any hassle. This is also one of their cheaper concealers (probably as it doesn’t get much attention or credit, but I will soon change that!) at only £3.99. I could buy this concealer for the rest of my life and never go bankrupt which is something I really like in any makeup product, to be honest!

wp_20161102_15_40_07_pro

My overall verdict would have to be you need to buy this right now because life is too short worrying about bad, over-priced concealers! I would go as far as to say this is one of my all-time favourite concealers because it’s so affordable yet so good on my face – I’m just loving it! Just make sure you get the right colour, though, because these are quite pigmented and that colour difference will become obvious no matter how much blending is taken place!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – you know how much I love me a review by now! Let me know what you think of this concealer if you use it yourself or whether I have now convinced you to go get it for yourselves! Also, don’t forget to let me know what more you would like to see me write about!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

2 thoughts on “Rimmel Hide The Blemish Concealer Review”

Leave a Reply

