October Favourites 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

To commemorate it being the end of another month (in 2 months time it’ll be 2017 – what is life?!), I thought I would share with you my October Favourites. All throughout October I wrote a different Halloween makeup tutorial for you so don’t forget to go back and check any that you may have missed! As much fun as I had, I think that both you and I are now sick to the teeth of makeup tutorials so back to the usual blog posts we go! Personally I think it’s helped my writing a little bit more and it is making me keen for some more makeup tutorials in the future, but let’s keep them a bit calmer this time round! Anyway, I’m going to stop chatting so we can get on with this months Favourites.

wp_20161031_15_39_41_pro

My first Favourite of October has got to be this Hide The Blemish Concealer from Rimmel in the shade Ivory. This is the whitest concealer I have ever seen and it’s taken me a while to get round to actually using it, but now I have I think it’s going to become a staple in my makeup collection! I also use a super white foundation yet this still helps me to highlight under my eyes and any other parts of my face that look a bit dull without it looking crazy! I never thought I’d find a colour like this to match my skin so well! This is a cream product so it lasts a fairly long time, it’s super pigmented so covers any redness and, of course, the much hated under eye circles and it’s also super affordable as it’s Rimmel! This does come in a variety of colours so there will be one for you! This concealer is available from Boots and Superdrug.

wp_20161031_15_38_00_pro

My second Favourite of last month is the W7 Neon Nights Palette. This will come as no surprise to those of you who have read any of my Halloween blog posts – I think it near enough featured in all of them! Obviously this is the ultimate Halloween palette and I wouldn’t be expected to wear lime green all year round, but for what it is it’s amazing! I’ve used it on myself as well as other people for Halloween and the longevity of these eye shadows are amazing as well as their blending power and pigmentation. Some colours are less pigmented than others but if that’s the case I just swap my brush for a finger and it goes on perfectly! This contains nearly every colour of the rainbow, I should think, with a mixture of 12 matte and shimmer shades (though the shimmer isn’t that chunky) and one pure glitter colour that looks amazing when packed on as a dramatic highlight. This is also super affordable! This is available from Ebay.

wp_20161031_15_38_25_pro

My next Favourite may come as a surprise to long time readers, but it’s the Maybelline Master Sculpt Compact in Light/Medium. If you are one of those long time readers and you remember me talking about it before (firstly, 30 points for you!), you will know I wasn’t so keen on the contour shade. Well, I have finally cracked it! Yes, this can look slightly orange still but I have suddenly formed a knack for it and I’m so happy I have! I do still use a light hand because you can always add more, but taking it off is a little trickier, and it can look stunning. I love using this quite messily around the forehead as it gives a really bronzed look and slight gradient when blended which I love. I still have ‘orange contour’ days but on the whole, I’m really happy with it! I’ve also always loved the highlight for the inner corner/brow bone. This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

wp_20161031_15_37_38_pro

Onto skincare, my next Favourite comes from Johnson’s (yes, the baby brand) and it’s their Gentle Exfoliating Wash for all skin types, which I never thought I’d say! I’m a bit fussy when it comes to skincare because I still have quite young skin and I know that using some products can prematurely age it and I also tend to not have the time or willingness to do so! However, with this, my view has been changed greatly! Since I’m now wearing a lot more makeup on a day-to-day basis, I thought it would probably be more beneficial than harmful to branch into the world of skincare and this was one of the first things I found (literally in my bath – how crazy is that!). I only use this a couple of times a week so I’m not stripping my face of the ‘good’ oils and I tend to do it when I wash my hair so if any does get in my hair, it’s really easy to get out and I don’t have to cry about it! It also means I almost look forward to using it because I know by this point in the week, my skin probably needs it! I don’t use loads because I have quite a small head but I use enough to get right in there! This has some little exfoliating beads in there that are really nice and gentle on the skin and, as someone with combination skin, it works so nicely into it! I would highly recommend this for beginners in skincare and I’m guessing it’s pretty affordable considering it’s Johnson’s. This is available from Superdrug and most supermarkets.

wp_20161031_15_38_44_pro

Moving quite swiftly onto random Favourites, I have been absolutely loving To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I’m pretty sure I’m the last person ever to read this, and I haven’t even finished it yet, but I’m absolutely in love with it! I only bought this because I’ve always had it on my reading list and just so happened to find it in a charity shop for 99p (hence the tattered-ness, please excuse that!). I was not turning down that offer! Anyway, if you have been living under a rock, To Kill a Mockingbird follow the story in the eyes of a 7 (I think that’s right, she ages a couple of years in the book so I’m sure she’s 7 at some point!) year old girl called Scout Finch, who’s father is a lawyer and just so happens to be defending a black man who has allegedly raped a young white girl. There are other aspects to this story but this is what it’s most known for and just remember that this is set in the 1930’s so the divide between black and white was more than emphasized. I’ve just been reading the part about the court case and, honestly, I didn’t want to put it down. I highly recommend you read this at some point in your lives! It’s not as difficult as I think it’s made out to be but it does take a while to get into (but just stick with it, because it is so worth it!). This is available from WHSmith, Waterstones, most supermarkets and most other book shops.

My final Favourite of last month (I’ve had quite a few, actually!) has got to be Halloween. Oh me oh my, have I been in the festive spirit this year! Normally I’m not too fussed when it comes to Halloween but there’s just something in me this year that loves it! It’s probably the combination of Halloween and finally being able to accept it’s the candles-and-cosy-days time of year. And of course my Halloween blog posts all throughout the month of October had to play a role in it! I’ve just really enjoyed the whole vibe of Halloween this year and so I hope you have too! I actually read something this morning that was saying how excited the signs were for Halloween and mine (Aquarius) said 99% – and I can’t deny it one bit!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post –  I have loved writing it! It’s a really nice change to not write ‘now blend it and blend it and blend it’! Let me know what you’re Favourites were of last month and how you spent your Halloween! Also, don’t forget to tell me what you would like to see next!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

