My Halloween Makeup (Tutorial)

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

This year for Halloween I decided I would go to a party (last night, just in case you wanted that information!) as the Mad Hatter but with my only little twist on it. The thing that inspired me was a headband which I received when I volunteered to help open a shop a couple of years ago (did ya know!). It’s a little purple headpiece with cotton reels and all sewing/crafty stuff like that on and so I decided to create a purple Mad Hatter look, which of course had to involve purple makeup. I loved this look but it is definitely not for the faint hearted! This involves dark lips and dark eyes though of course you can switch up one or the other for a lesser dramatic look. Anyway, I’m going to get on now because it does look stunning!

The first thing I did, as per usual, was prime my eyes and set them with some powder. For this look, I personally used a lot of powder because I really wanted it to be very blown out and seamlessly blended to get the effect I wanted. I then went into my Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (from Boots and Superdrug) and took the shade Celebrate and popped this all over my lid. I first of all took a brush but used my finger to get the maximum amount of pigmentation I could and applied it over the centre of my lid. I did try and even this all out with the same brush, though.

I then went into my W7 Neon Nights Palette (available from Ebay) and took this shimmery, deep pink shade and applied this into my crease. I did this quite lightly so that I had the ability to blend it upwards because I did want it to look super blended and smokey because it  was a night out, after all. I really loved this shade next to Celebrate and it really helped with that steady gradient.

From that same palette I took the bold purple and applied this directly into my crease. This gave some added definition and it just added to this gorgeous gradient. This is also matte so helped shape the eye in a ‘naturalistic’ way (as naturalistic as purple gets anyway!).

The final few steps for this was to add some liner, apply a bit of that purple and pink under my lash line and a little bit of inner corner/brow bone highlight. I also wanted to mention that the highlighter I used on top of my cheekbones was Hemisphere from the Sleek Solstice palette (available from Boots and Superdrug), which was also purple.

For the lips I did the most simplistic yet effective thing I could with the products I had. As I said at the beginning, I wanted to go all out with dark lips and dark eyes so I first of all took a berry-toned lip liner from Makeup Studio in the shade Funky and filled in my entire lips with it. I then (with my finger) applied the Rimmel Stay Glossy lip gloss in Yours Forever (available from Boots) and just patted it on top of the lip liner. This created such an easy but opaque lip that lasted all night long because of that lip liner. This is quite dark but I loved it and I will definitely be wearing it again!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this final installment in my Halloween blog posts! Next week I’ll be back to my usual blog posts but I’ve loved it so much! I cant believe how quickly this month has gone! Anyway, I hope you have a happy Halloween in whatever way you choose to spend it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

