Betty Boop Makeup Tutorial

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I’ll be showing you a super simple Betty Boop Inspired Makeup Tutorial that is probably another one suited to my shyer Munchkins out there. This is so simple and I reckon the eyes could even be worn for everyday. Even if it is a bit more tame, it is still effortlessly stunning and has this statement heart-shaped lips that Ms. Boop is known for!

The first thing I did for this look was apply a primer (the MUA Pro-Base Primer from Superdrug) and set it with a little bit of powder in the crease because even if we aren’t applying a lot, there’s a lot of blending involved to get the required look and shape. I will then ensure the primer is set and my eye is completely colour corrected with the shade Bow from the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (from Boots and Superdrug).

I then mixed the shade’s Nooner and Tease (from the Urban Decay Naked 2 and Naked 3 Palettes, both from Feel Unique) and applied this into my crease. When I found a picture of someone who had also recreated a Betty Boop-type makeup (because the cartoon is very difficult to see!), she had applied a blue-toned grey in the crease and blown it out a lot so of course I had to do the same! These two, however, are more indigo-toned but they both blended out beautifully and effectively for the look.

Other than that, there really isn’t much else. I just took this shimmery white shade from a little BYS quad I found and applied it in my inner corner and along my lower lash line to make my eyes look a bit bigger like hers and add a little bit more excitement (i.e. shimmer!). I also ran a little bit of black eye pencil through my lower lash line and blended this out slightly, minding not to bring it down too much. This just makes the lower lash line look a little bit thicker as she is also very much known for her thick, bold eyelashes. As I said, this is a really simplistic look that is meant to make her look pretty innocent, but we then move onto the lips!

The lips, from where I was looking anyway, seemed in a heart shape but a lot thicker than what I had previously created for the Red Queen last week. I decided to use the Natural Collections lipstick in Crimson (available from Boots) and use the tip of that to create the look, though of course it ended quite messy! I would recommend beginning with a lip brush and then filling it in from the bullet, but I had the freedom to work with the natural shape of my lips, so I did. I then applied a little bit of Tanya Burr’s lip gloss in Mistletoe Kisses (which was limited edition, sad times) with my middle finger just to the parts where the lipstick were. I really loved the effect this gave!

And there we have it! Another super simple one but with bold lips (always a favourite of mine!) – let me know what you thought of it and if you recreate it, let me know of that as well! I really hope you have enjoyed this because it is a bit more basic but that’s probably just to allow the outfit some attention! Don’t forget to let me know what other blog posts you would like to see me write!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

