Jessica Rabbit Makeup Tutorial

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I begin another couple of themed makeup tutorials for Halloween, this theme being Cartoon Characters. I only have a couple in this category, the first being the iconic Jessica Rabbit. I knew I had to do this for those that wanted to do a really simple but playful look for such a statement character. I think at some point we’ve all wished to be Jessica Rabbit, and now’s our time!

The first thing I’m going to do is apply the MUA Pro Base Primer (available from Superdrug) and set this with some powder in the crease. I’m then taking the shade Sugar Plum from a magazine I received years ago (but is nonetheless entirely stunning) and applying it straight onto the lid. This is loose so fallout can be expected, but it’s so pigmented you don’t need much at all.

I then took the Essence eye shadow (which the lid has fallen off of, that’s how old it is!) in Disco Diva which has a slight metallic sheen and applied this directly into my crease. I then blended this out slightly with a fluffy blending brush.

Taking the Makeup Revolution Ultra Flawless Matte’s Palette (available from Superdrug) and mixing the shades Rosewood and Olden, I also applied this into my crease but blended this more upwards to make it look a bit more smoked out and natural (if that’s possible!). I love these colours for the crease and I knew it would be perfect for this look whilst I was looking at pictures of Jessica Rabbit.

I then took my Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (available from Boots and Superdrug) and used the shade Noir to line my lash line with an angled brush. I chose to use this instead of another form of eyeliner because I knew it would look a lot more subtle and could perhaps be smoked out if you wanted to do that for a darker/evening type of makeup. I actually think this look could work for a night out in general, thinking about it!

For my lips, I first applied Rimmel’s Kate Matte Lipstick in 107 (available from Boots and Superdrug) to my entire lips (maybe line it first!) to begin the statement red lip! I originally thought this was too dark despite the next steps but I thought that even if it was, it suits this time of year anyway (wore my first red lip out the other day – very happy!).

I then took the Natural Collections Lipstick in Crimson (available from Boots) and applied this to the centre of my lips and blended it simply by smacking my lips together. This is a much brighter cherry red and so lifted the lip a little bit and added a slight ombre, not that it’s that noticeable to be entirely honest with you.

Finally, I applied the smallest amount of clear gloss to the centre of my lips using my middle finger, just to add even more dimension and match the picture I found of her. The lip gloss I used for this was the Rimmel Vinyl Gloss in Crystal Clear (available from Boots) and I just applied this to the back of my hand and patted it on. Crimson has a sheen to it but obviously 107’s matte so I just wanted to add a bit of gloss so they’re both on the same page (if they were book but obviously they aren’t so that was a wasted phrase. Sorry).

And that’s it! This is much simpler than my previous blog post, I’m sure we can all agree! This look is so effortlessly gorgeous and I’m actually tempted to wear it just for a general night out, to be honest with you. Let me know what you thought of this look and what else you would love to see!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

