Alice In Wonderland Makeup Tutorial

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you my interpretation of an Alice in Wonderland makeup look (which is probably my simplest by far). Going by the Tim Burton production of the film, which I have so far, she doesn’t wear much visible makeup so I decided to take my own twist on it and my main thinking behind it was ‘English Rose’ (i.e. soft and gentle). Unlike my other tutorials so far, this is for those who don’t want to wear a lot of bright makeup at Halloween or for those who are a bit shyer or don’t own a lot of bold colours. In saying that it’s for Halloween, this look could be made applicable to some other random days as it’s a really easy way to include and encourage colour into an otherwise basic makeup look. I just wanted to include something for you shyer Munchkins (you’re welcome)!

After applying an eye primer and a little bit of setting power in the crease, I took my Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette (available from Feel Unique) and created a really basic look that I love for everyday; all I did was apply Naked 2 as a base all over then add a little bit of Faint in the crease for some definition. I’m sure I’ve spoken about this look before but it is effortlessly gorgeous and is perfect for a ‘no-makeup-makeup-look’. I blend this out quite a bit because I want it to be really soft and as neutral as possible. You could wear even less than this or more if you wanted to, but I thought this was a good medium.

For a little pop of colour, I used the tip of a sponge-y brush (well, it’s not really a brush if it’s actually a sponge but, yeah) and take this blue mousse from an old magazine and apply it just under my lower lash line. This has a really nice shimmer/sheen to it and adds something a bit more to a  typical, everyday look. It also ties into Alice’s stereotypical blue dress really nicely. And that, I think, is the eyes done!

For the lips, I decided to use the YSL Touche Brilliance in 6 (this is literally one of the oldest products I own!). This is a really simple, sheer lip gloss full to the brim with glitter (yay!). I think if I had paler lips a little bit of rosy pink would come through, but as it’s so sheer and my lips so aren’t, so it’s just a really glittery lip gloss. I really like how this looks with the blue and adds a bit more sparkle (because sparkle is always necessary!). For a daytime look, this could be swapped for a simple nude lip gloss with no shimmer in it.

And there we have it – I told you it was the simplest one so far! I would probably wear this for a daytime look but swap the blue for something else if I wasn’t feeling it that day. I really hope you have enjoyed this look because I have really loved creating it for you! If you try it, please send me some pictures or let me know how you get on! And don’t forget to let me know what other Halloween looks you would like to see!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

