Queen of Hearts Makeup Tutorial

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I would like to share with you a second Makeup Tutorial based on my love of Alice in Wonderland, this time showing you my interpretation of Helena Bonham Carter’s Queen of Hearts/Red Queen. If you don’t already know, I bloody love everything Alice in Wonderland and this is another really crazy, out-there character that makes you wonder how Lewis Carroll thought it all up but was so much fun to re-create! Again, this is one for those more confident and love wearing/playing around with colours. This was so enjoyable to play with and I hope you have just as much fun, also.

The first thing I noticed about this character is that the actresses real eyebrows had been covered up, but I don’t currently have the resources to do that so I didn’t (simply put!). If you can though, it would make the makeup seem much more true to the original character but I personally wouldn’t go that extent for a party or something.

So the first thing I did was apply this blue mousse that I found from magazines of years gone by with my finger and try to make it quite rounded in shape on my eye. This took a little while to dry but as long as you look down, it’s all good! I didn’t bother blending it out at this point either but it created a beautiful, shimmery base to begin with.

I then set it with this light blue shade from my W7 Neon Night Palette (available from Ebay) using a simple flat-headed eye shadow brush. I did this to prevent creasing and to also make it a little bit more comfortable on the lid.

I also applied a little bit of the darker blue into my crease using a small, dense blending brush. Now I allowed myself to blend it all out, but not too much because I really wanted to keep as much pigment as possible on my lid! I just wanted a little bit more definition, I think for my own sanity instead of anything else!

To take a slight twist on the original picture, I decided to draw a thin black line just above my crease (where the eye shadow ended) and blend it out slightly using the same small blending brush, just to make it a bit more dramatic. The pencil I used for this was the Lancome Le Crayon Kohl in 01 Noir (I’m fancy like that, available from Boots). I’m really pleased with how this turned out as it looked very faithful to the picture I had! I blended this out a bit but not too much because I didn’t want my eye to look like a black mess but I didn’t want it looking ridiculous! I also ran it along my lower lash line and blended it out. I took this right from my inner corner to the edge of my eye shadow.You can also create her beauty mark on the top of your left cheekbone if you want to go all out with this eyeliner!

For the lips, I had to re-create the statement heart shape! I didn’t have any on me at the time, but I would firstly cover my lips in foundation to dull out the natural colour of them and give me an entirely clean base. I then started with a lip brush and my beloved Rimmel Kate Matte Lipstick in 107 (available from Boots and Superdrug) by marking the midpoint of my bottom lip, drawing the widening lines on the same lip then tracing my cupid’s bow and finally joining it all up. I began by filling the heart in with the lip brush as well, but once I had the basic shape I did start to use the tip of the bullet (be really careful with this step, though, if you have thin lips!). I loved doing this and it is a case of ‘practice makes perfect’ so don’t let it dampen your spirits if it doesn’t go right first time round! Just take your time and be precise!

And that’s that! A little bit shorter than the Mad Hatter Makeup Tutorial, but just as dramatic, I’m sure you can tell! If you try this out, please let me know and send me some pictures because I would love to see how yours turns out! And let me know what you thought of the idea in itself; I’d love your feedback! If you would like any other tutorials for Halloween, just let me know and I will see what I can do!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

