Glam Mad Hatter Makeup Tutorial

Good Evening Munchkins!

As the second installment of my Halloween-themed blog posts, I will be showing you how I created a fairly accurate Mad Hatter look (from the Tim Burton film of Alice in Wonderland). In these blog posts I will just being showing you how to re-create the eye makeup and lips and any other significant, staple bits and bobs instead of a full face – that one’s entirely down to you! I managed to make this on my face through many years of loving Alice in Wonderland and mainly looking at the DVD cover where there are some close up shots of Johnny Depp looking mighty fine! This wasn’t as difficult as I initially thought it would be but it’s definitely not one for the faint-hearted; it is very fun though! You could wear this as a faithful Mad Hatter look for Halloween this month (that’s so exciting to say!) or add little bits or take some bits away to make it a little less dramatic, but I loved it and I very much enjoyed re-creating it! I realise I’ve gone on enough but just as a little heads up, I will try and do a few themed weeks, so this one is going to be Alice in Wonderland-themed (had to expect it from me!) and I have a few more ideas in the pipeline for the upcoming weeks. But yes, I’ve gone on enough! I hope you enjoy how I recreated Johnny Depp’s representation of the Mad Hatter.

wp_20161001_13_17_19_pro

So the first and most fundamental aspect to this look is applying a base/primer. I used the MUA Pro-Base Eye Primer (available from Superdrug) and applied this all over my lid, up to my brows and under my eyes just a little bit. To set this, correct any other discoloration and help blending later, I used Bow from the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (available from Boots and Superdrug) and applied this right on top of the primer with a big, flat-headed brush. This doesn’t have to be entirely neat but I love this step and it does genuinely help!

Taking my W7 Neon Nights Palette (i.e. my new best friend for this month, available from Ebay), I’m taking the hot pink shade on a small, dense rounded brush and put this into my crease and blend the shiz out of it. This really does prove how much setting the primer really helps! It was really easy to blend up, so much so that I didn’t even have to blend out the edges.This just looked so pretty on it’s own, but be careful it doesn’t end up halfway down your face! If it does, don’t worry and clean it up at the end once everything else is done and has had it’s chance to fall down your face as well!

I next take the purple from the same palette and do the exact same, but I don’t blow it out so much so you can still see a little bit of pink underneath. Not going to lie, this looked like that gorgeous Tumblr/Apple Mac galaxy background and my eyes felt the most beautiful they have ever felt! I did blend these two together slightly with a fluffy blending brush but I wanted the boldness and vibrancy to be evident throughout.

Going back into that same Sleek palette, I’ll be taking Celebrate and popping this directly into the crease, only blending upwards. In the pictures I was looking at, it looked like a black crease shade but I thought that would look too harsh and this purple is almost so dark that it’s black so near enough the same thing! It also looks a little bit more seamless as it’s purple. I only blended it upwards because I wanted the lid to be clear as it is in the pictures.

For the lower lash line, I applied the orange from the Neon Nights Palette and brought it down slightly. Again, this stage doesn’t need to be too neat because the next bit will sort that out. The only thing I will say is to leave a small gap where the inner corner of the eye is because it makes the eyes look bigger (and was very much successful by those makeup artists – well done!).

wp_20161001_13_30_54_pro

To blend this out and make it seem even crazier than it already is, I’m going to go back into that hot pink we first used and bring it all the way down basically to wear my dark under-eyes stop! I will also dip into the orange and mix the two together to make it even more seamless but I loved the way this turned out! I do maintain that gap though that I originally created. To blend the edges out I used my powder brush, just because I thought it would be quicker and easier!

One of the most infamous things about this Mad Hatter is the white lower eye lashes that have been painted on. I don’t have a white liquid eyeliner, but if I did, I would definitely use it! Instead, I decided I would take the silver glitter from the Neon Nights Palette and use this as my inner corner and brow bone highlight (if you have room!). I actually really liked how this looked and made it a little bit more girly if you wanted to go as a female Mad Hatter for Halloween. It is a bit clumpy but if you are going to get away with it at any time, it’s going to be Halloween!

For lips I used the Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Sugar Plum (available from Boots and Superdrug) as it was the most faithful to the original look and it did look really nice with the eye makeup. It was crazy once I’d finished it but my makeup-addict heart skipped quite a few beats when I looked into my big mirror!

And there we have it! If you try this, I hope you have as much fun as I did because I loved re-creating this! As I did say earlier, though, it is for those who are a bit more confident and like to play with colour but it does look amazing! Let me know what other Halloween-y looks you would like to see this month as well, though I am so excited to show you what more I have up my sleeve!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

