How To: Poisoned Apple Lips

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

As it is now the beginning of October, I thought I would let you guys know that every blog post in October (every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday) will be a Tutorial or How To of some kind for a type of Halloween makeup. I am one of those people that loves Halloween specifically for the reason of being able to play with all these different colours and experimenting with new makeup, so I thought I would inflict that onto you as well! I have a fair few ideas but if you have any requests, I would love to write them for you! Today I thought I would start with something super easy that can be made applicable to any Halloween makeup look!

I’ve decided to create a little Poisoned Apple/Vamp-y style look for you guys to recreate yourself either for fun or actually for the big day, which I absolutely love myself (I feel like I’m on Bake Off saying that first bit!). This incorporates a few of my favourite things (darkness, gloss and precision) and I hope you guys enjoy it as well. Remember, Halloween is a bit of fun (as is makeup); it will all be off by the end of the evening anyway! And don’t worry if you don’t have these specific products – anything similar will do the exact same job.

So the first thing I’m going to do is take my Make-Up Studio lip pencil/liner in Funky, which is a beautiful wine-y/purple colour, and just line my lips with it. I can’t give you much advice on this because it is literally doing as it says, but I did entirely fill in the corners of my mouth with this to make it look darker and also make the next step a little bit easier. I love this lip liner so much and Halloween is it’s most used time of year! Unfortunately I can’t find where I bought this because it was a little while ago, but I’m sure you’ll be able to find it much more easily than me if you live in a different country!

Next, I’m simply going to take my Rimmel Kate Matte Lipstick in 107 and apply this onto the centre of my lips/where there isn’t any lip liner. I chose this one because it’s really creamy and is one of my darker reds so won’t look ridiculous next to the darkness of the lip liner. I applied this straight from the bullet because it was my lipstick and I did it quite messily, anyway, but if you would like some more precision, you can go in with a lip brush. There shouldn’t be any bleeding, though, due to the lip liner. This lipstick is available from Boots and Superdrug.

wp_20160925_10_45_15_pro

I then take my ring finger and pat my lips in order to help the two products blend but still leave it quite messy (which is the look I’m going for!). Of course, if there’s a lot of smudging, I will take a wipe and just clean up the edges, but if you’re careful it should be fine. If any of the edges still look too harsh after this, lightly run your finger along your lips to blend it in. Smacking your lips together also helps a lot and you may just be able to do that and not have to use your finger, in the end!

Finally, I just tapped a little bit of gloss into the centre of my lips. For this, I used the Rimmel Stay Glossy lip gloss in Yours Forever (which I can’t find anywhere, either!), which is the darkest lip colour I own and is much darker than the lip liner. I just applied a little bit to the back of my hand and used my index finger to gently apply it in the centre. I just really liked the little bit of detail and darkness this added! I then smacked my lips together again so it was all (near enough) even and balanced.

And that’s it! As I say, this is so simple but I love it so much and I think it is going to be in one of my final choices for my Halloween makeup! I hope you enjoyed this blog post – let me know what you thought of the final look! If you have any Halloween requests, do leave them in the comments and if I have all the products I will need, I will definitely do it for you! I think I’m very much going to enjoy this month in the lead up to Halloween! If you also have a name that I can call this month (like in December I do ‘Blogmas’), leave it in the comments as well so I can use it just so that all of the blog posts link together.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

