Boxed VS. Wrapped Up – Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be chatting you through the difference between two eye shadows from the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special; Boxed and Wrapped Up. I really enjoy writing these blog posts because as someone who loves makeup to the highest degree, it makes me think a lot more about when and why I use it – I hope you guys feel the same! This palette is available from Boots and Superdrug.

Colour

wp_20160918_12_44_22_pro

From the outset, these two colours look like incredibly similar deep brown shades. However, after much swatching, looking and use, I have managed to decipher between the two. Boxed is much warmer and almost chocolate-y toned, making it potentially easier to wear if you are scared of dark shades. I’ve also found that this is slightly lighter and more versatile, and hence, easier to wear.

Wrapped Up, on the other hand, is much earthier toned and even has black or really dark undertones. This makes it a little bit harsher and less warm-toned. I also feel like in the pan it looks like it has some pink-y/cranberry tones but that could be where other colours from the palette may have merged into it. This shade is definitely a little bit darker and harsher so could be suited to those who are a bit more confident in terms of eye makeup.

When To Wear

wp_20160918_12_44_33_pro

I would wear both of these on a night out amongst a smokey eye (and have done – they both work well). However, I have found that applying a little bit of Boxed in the outer part of the crease during the day time can look really nice and effective as well as adding a tiny bit of darkness to a daytime look (and therefore excitement on my part!). Wrapped Up I would keep specifically for smokey eyes or really dark makeup because even when blended out, it’s still really dramatic. That’s my personal view and how I like to wear my makeup night and daytime but just so that you guys know how dark it really is!

What To Wear With

wp_20160918_12_45_14_pro
Left: Boxed, Right: Wrapped Up

I find that Boxed tends to work with more eye shadow colours because it is warmer toned and so can add definition to most smokey eye colours (which I make sure is every colour!). Wrapped Up is a bit harsher and so I think would only work with other dark colours that will compliment it. I don’t know if I ever would go for a traditional black smokey eye because I don’t think it would suit me, but I think when you mix the two, they do work together and compliment each other really well. I have done this before and I did really like how it looked. As I mentioned earlier, also, I think in small amounts you could wear Boxed for everyday. But in very small, blended amounts.

And finally, which do I prefer? When thinking of what eye shadow colours I like to use on the lid (because these are crease/definition colours) and my skin tone, I think Boxed would have to be my favourite purely because it suits me better and I don’t feel too scared when using it (always a bonus). That’s not to say I won’t ever use Wrapped Up, but I am more likely to reach for Boxed over it.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – if you have this palette let me know which one you prefer and why! You know me, I’m still going to use both shades whenever I can! Also, let me know what kind of crease/transition colours you love most in a smokey eye! If you would like to see my ‘All About’ on this palette, you can click HERE.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

