Night Time Routine 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I thought I would talk you through my current Night Time Routine along with the products I use in order to share with you what I do to help my skin in a bit more detail. I’ve never done anything like this before so I’m really excited to show you everything! All the products and steps I include may seem a lot but I’m going to show you the maximum I could use in an evening; I don’t do all of this every single day religiously, but I’ll explain individual details as we go through!

Bath Time!

To begin my night time routine, I will have a bath. If possible, I have a bath everyday because I find they relax me and on those slightly chillier days, they warm me up a lot and also get me in the mood to go to sleep (though I tend not to need help with that!). I also find these a great getaway from work or family, as much as I love them! Sometimes I’ll have a bubble bath but I actually haven’t got any bath bombs or anything in so at the moment, I’m slightly lacking in that area.

wp_20160918_12_39_51_pro

I know this is going to sound random, but I actually really want to talk to you about the soap I use. This is the Go Mango Soap from Bomb Cosmetics (sorry for how disgusting it looks – I’ve been using it for just over a month!) and my Dad bought it for me when he went on holiday as well as a couple of other soaps and honestly, he could not have chosen better! This is a simple, orange bar soap but it looks so pretty with the opaque and sheerer bits of soap and it smells really fresh so doesn’t overpower my body when I use it. It lathers really nicely, doesn’t dry out my skin (as bar soaps can sometimes do) and even works for shaving! I highly recommend these soaps!

Hair

wp_20160918_12_40_29_pro

On a Wednesday and a Sunday, I will wash my hair. I know a lot of you will say that that’s not enough or it’s too much, but that’s how it best fits into my schedule and my hair hasn’t fallen out yet, so can’t be doing too much damage! In terms of shampoo, I will use anything lying around because I don’t really mind when it’s just cleaning my hair – conditioner is where my attentions at! I use the Tresemme Luxurious Moisture conditioner (available from Boots and Superdrug) and it makes my hair so soft and nourished and has done for years. I naturally have very thick, curly hair so it also helps to tame that and make it easier to maintain.

wp_20160918_12_41_12_pro

When it comes to drying my hair, I like to use the No More Frizz Sleek and Shine Serum (from B&M) to tame fly away’s before I even begin. I apply one/one and a half pumps onto my roots then take it down quite roughly through the mid-lengths and ends. I then just dry it normally with a hairdryer but to make it quite fluffy I brush underneath the hair and place the hairdryer on top (if that makes any sense). I know a lot of people won’t want fluffy hair but I just really like it and I know it suits me and my hair type. Sometimes I will leave some of the lower bits of my hair a little bit damp so that in the night they dry curly because, again, I like how this looks and it’s a little bit of variety to just plain straight. I will also use a barrel brush when drying my hair, if that’s any use to you.

Body

wp_20160918_12_41_56_pro

Particularly in this past month or so, moisturising my body has been a key one (mainly because I burnt myself a lot and wanted to maintain that tan for as long as possible!). To do this I use the Orange & Pomelo Body Butter from Wilkinson’s; I love the Fruits collection from Wilkinson’s, it’s so underrated and my entire family uses this range. I do only tend to use this on specific areas but I do want to try and get into full body moisturising again because I need to keep this youthful skin for as long as possible! I just love this body butter; I can feel it moisturising and nourishing my skin and it smells so good! In fact, all the scents smell so good!

wp_20160918_12_42_30_pro

During times when I might be wearing a lot of makeup (which I am at the moment now I’m back at school), I will try and make an effort to moisturise my face before I go to bed because my biggest fear is ruining my face (as narcissistic as it sounds – I am sorry!). For a proper full-on moisturise, I will use the Simple Kind To Skin Replenishing Rich Moisturiser (available from Boots and Superdrug, read my review HERE) and apply that before I get into bed so it can sink in during the night ready for the next morning of skin self-destruction.

wp_20160918_12_42_54_pro

After I’ve brushed my teeth, I will then apply a lip balm because even if I go one night without applying it, my lips are all cracked and dry by the morning and it’s not ideal when you wear lip colours as much as me! I do go through lip balms fairly quickly but this ones lasted me nearly a year so it’s pretty good going! I don’t tend to have much preference between pot or stick, just as long as it works! It also smells like a coconut so I’m very happy about that. I think I received this for Christmas a couple of years ago and it’s still going strong!

wp_20160918_12_43_13_pro

Finally, before eventually crawling into bed I will use a hand cream. This has also become a slight obsession of mine since I received this massive bottle of it for Christmas last year. This one smells of peaches and it actually moisturises really well! I don’t need to use a full pump because my hands are so tiny so it is going to last me a long while yet! I really like the pump feature on it because it makes it easy no matter how tired I am! I will then clamber my way into bed and sleep as all the best 15-year-olds do, these days!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I have loved writing it so let me know what other (if any) routines you would like to see of mine. As I say, I don’t do all these steps all the time (though I probably should) so don’t feel like you’re doing too much or too little. This is purely relaxation tips, hence why I have included how I take off my makeup or anything, just in case your wondering. Don’t forget to let me know what your routine is or what your essentials are during the night time!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

