Rimmel Scandaleyes Gel Eyeliner Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be talking you through a review of the Rimmel Scandaleyes Gel Eyeliner in the colour 001 Black. If you’ve been a keen Munchkin for a while now, you will know that I can’t do anything in life without a slick of eyeliner and so it will come as no surprise to you that I tried this as soon as I bought it. I’d never tried a gel eyeliner before meaning this from a completely clean (or naive) state, so if you have this then let me know what you think of it yourself.

wp_20160913_15_40_20_pro

The first thing I would like to talk to you about is the packaging. When I first bought this, it came in a little box which I thought was a bit odd because you don’t really find that in the UK, that’s mainly in the USA or Australia but it did make it feel a bit more novelty. Unfortunately, I have thrown this box away (bad blogger!) but it contained information about the product and the ingredients because there isn’t room on the actual pot. Me being me, I ignored this, but I remember it saying ‘smear-proof’ and ‘waterproof’, so these were two things I had to test! As with most gel eyeliners that I’ve seen, the actual product comes in a little rounded pot which has the Rimmel crown on the lid which I think is so cute. Much aesthetic! On the bottom there is a small sticker with the colour and little bits and pieces you may need to know (but, of course, I’ve completely ignored these!), which is always helpful. Something I wasn’t expecting was that this came with a little brush to use with the product. I’m a massive control freak so I have not used it, I love my own eyeliner brush too much but according to my friend who’s used it, it’s ‘not too bad’. Personally I think it looks too wide to be an eyeliner brush and wouldn’t create a perfect flick, but that’s just how I like it. I might use it for eye shadow one day, but not eyeliner. This also helped me understand why it came in a little box, as well.

The colour of this states it’s black and oh-me-oh-my, is it black! This is honestly one of the blackest blacks I’ve ever seen and that floats my boat so much. If I want thick, black eyeliner, I want thick, black eyeliner, not an excuse for one! I was kind of shocked but I can assure you, I’m still getting away with it for school! It’s honestly so dark that you could wear a dark smokey eye with it, as dark as you would like it, and it would still be visible. I think this also comes in a couple more colours so I’m sure they are just as pigmented.

wp_20160913_15_40_34_pro

As I just mentioned, these are pigmented for days and it lasts exceptionally well. I think it said 24hrs on the box (but I can’t be sure) and obviously I wouldn’t wear eyeliner for that long but it lasts through a hot school day pretty well and that’s enough to tick all my boxes. I would also agree that it’s smear-proof and waterproof due to an experience at a party I had where someone pointed a water gun straight at me and my eyes got a *little bit* wet – but my eyeliner survived! It can imprint into my crease a little bit which isn’t ideal but it turns my eye shadow smokey, so looks like I’m winning, again! This is probably due to my eye shape and how big I can do my eyeliner, but it’s still something to be aware of. This is really creamy when I’m using it but once it’s on, it’s on and it’s honestly one of the easiest products I have ever used (even if it’s eyeliner and eyeliner is the bane of the existence). I just love it – other than the imprinting, there isn’t much more negativity I can shout about it. I do use a fair bit of it but that’s because I like big eyeliner and I do actually think that this pot will still last me quite a long time!

In terms of price and availability, it is pretty good going for someone in my situation. This retails for £6.99 and is available from Boots and Superdrug (as it’s Rimmel) so is super affordable and very much available to everyone. I think this does kind of explain that small hiccup with the imprinting, but everything else seems much higher quality than a product that’s under £10. It also includes it’s own brush which technically means the eyeliner itself retails for even less – bonus!

wp_20160913_15_40_50_pro

Finally, would I recommend it? Yes, absolutely. I personally don’t mind the imprinting because I know I can just blend it out with my finger if need be. I love this for a drugstore gel eyeliner and I think it’s going to be one I repurchase many more times. Fun fact, I’ve actually recommended this to a friend and she loved it too!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – you know how much I love a good review! If you have this eyeliner let me know what you think of it or what other products you would like to see me talk about more. I’m always up for buying more makeup!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

 

One thought on “Rimmel Scandaleyes Gel Eyeliner Review”

Leave a Reply

