How To Survive Going On Holiday With Anxiety

Good Evening Munchkins!

If you read my blog post on Sunday you will be in the know that last week I went on holiday with my family. This place we went to was somewhere I’d never been before, it was with people I’d never gone on holiday with and at a time where I could’ve been quite vulnerable. Despite my fears, this turned into one of my most best-loved holidays that I have a whole collection of amazing memories from. However, to get to that stage I did the following things to try and help calm my anxiety a little bit until I was entirely fine. I thought that I would share these with you now in case you ever find yourself in the same boat as myself because personally, I find these quite effective.

Take New Things To Look Forward To

If you read one of my most recent hauls, you will have seen that I briefly explained this aspect of buying something new to wear or to do specifically for holiday so that if nothing else goes to plan, I have that to look forward to. This year I did it with pyjamas because I love me some pyjamas and I know that if I’ve had a not so great day, I could crawl into bed in my new pyjamas and just be all snuggly and lovely. Once I get back from holiday, as well, it leaves me with amazing memories so when I use/wear it again I can be like ‘oh, this was the holiday I fell of a go-kart and tried to laugh but it still really bloody hurt’!  An alternative to pyjamas I like are face masks because they’re so easy to pack and just make for a really nice pamper evening if you ever need it. My little brothers also love everything beauty related so they love it too!

Research The Area Beforehand

I went to somewhere called Camber Sands which I knew would be right on the beach (the sea is one of my biggest fears, just putting it out there) so I kind of knew what the actual resort was going to be like and I also had a cheeky research into Hastings because I knew we would spend one day there. One of my big issues is actually timings and how long it takes to get somewhere so I looked up the distance and travel time from home to the resort and from the resort to Hastings. For me, this really relaxed and steadied me because little things like that can stress me out for some unknown reason!

Plan Things To Do

Something else I blame my anxiety on (no shame!) is missing home. I’m very much a home-ly type of girl and I get homesick really easily so this is something I have made a must since I was a child! I’ve figured if I fill my day from the minute I wake up to the minute I fall asleep, my mind will be occupied with the activity/day so I won’t have to miss home and my cats. This has only proved successful so far! I’ve also found from this that by the time I roll into bed, I drop off almost instantly so there is no late night worrying!

Get To Know The People Your Going Away With (Kinda)

Okay, so I wasn’t going to include this one but then I thought that some of you might find it useful. I went away with my Mum, Step-Mum,3 younger brothers, Step-Mum’s brother and Step-Mum’s uncle, which is a lot of people. I know the first 5 people very well but I don’t see the other two as much as I would like so being on holiday with them meant I had to spend time exclusively with them. I was thinking of not including this point because I found that no matter how much/little preparation or stressing I did before the holiday, I ended up really getting on with these last 2 people because we had to spend so much time with each other. These 2 people I didn’t necessarily have a steady relationship with beforehand so I found that the actual holiday made us as a group so much stronger and so much closer.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – if you would like to see anymore dedicated to anxiety I will be more than happy to do that for you. If you have any more issues or problems on or surrounding the topics, please don’t hesitate to ask me in the comments below or email me if you would like a bit more privacy and I will be sure to get back to you!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

